Sunday, October 6, 2019

Tellstrom Wins Lloyd Burton "Against The Wind" Modified Challenge

Kyle Tellstrom poses with the Burton family after winning the 4th annual Lloyd Burton “Against the Wind” Modified Challenge at Shasta Speedway. Left to right are Dan Burton, Mary Burton, Tellstrom, Christine Burton, Kaitlyn Tiner and Grace Bailey. (Photo Courtesy Nadine Strauss)

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

Anderson, CA..... October 5, 2019… Kyle Tellstrom of Ukiah rocketed by race leader Darrin Knight of Ukiah on a lap-35 restart and stayed out in front the second half of the 60-lapper to win the 4th annual Lloyd Burton “Against the Wind” Modified Challenge at Shasta Speedway Saturday night.

It was the final race of the season for the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, and when it was all over The Ferrrari Farms racing team, with driver Scott Winters of Tracy, celebrated in victory lane as the 2019 North State Modified Series champion.

Winters clocked in fastest over the 22 car field, setting a new Hoosier Tire track record of 16.230 on the three-eighth mile paved oval. Four other drivers ran faster than the previous record of 16.365 set by Kris Price of Sacramento at this same event last year. Knight turned a 16.247, Tellstrom ran 16.250, Cameron Austin set a time of 16.319, and Darrin Sullivan clocked in at 16.356.

Winters drew the number eight pill for the inversion placing Ian Elliott and Charlie Collins in the front row of the staring grid for the feature event. Elliot forged ahead at the start with Randy Houston and Knight both driving under Collins for second and third. The first yellow flew on lap seven when Keith Bloom’s car spun into the infield and developed a small engine fire. The safety crew extinguished the flames and Bloom was able to rejoin the field at the back of the pack.

Houston beat Elliot to the line on the restart with Knight following his lead into second place. Richie Potts dropped out on lap 11 as the tight pack was running double file. Houston and Knight pulled away as Austin and Tellstrom battled to get by Elliott. Local driver Steven Gannon, driving Bob Lehman’s back-up car, retired to the pits on lap 18 just before the race was slowed again for a Cody Braund – Jason Philpot confrontation.

This time Knight drove to the front when racing got back underway. Tellstrom pulled along side of Houston and took second the following round. The race was slowed again on lap 24 when Sullivan spun in turn one.

Knight continued to lead, and at the half-way mark the running order was Knight, Tellstrom, Austin, Collins, Winters, Dustin DeRosier, Bloom, Rich Cobb, Elliot, Braund, Philpot, Jeremy Nowlin, Sullivan, Nick Lyons, Chris Salmina, Herman Pulyer, Stewart Campbell, Sal Lopez and Rick Avila.

Flagman Johnny Miskill threw yellow flag number four on lap 34 when Sullivan and Jeremy Nowlin touched sending Nowlin’s car spinning. The restart saw Tellstrom bolt out in front of Knight to become the fourth different leader. Two rounds later Cobb’s car drifted up the track, made contact with Elliott causing a seven-car pileup in turn four. Although Cobb was able to continue Elliott, Philpot, Lyons, Salmina, Sullivan, Campbell and Nowlin were not so lucky and either drove off or were towed to the pits.

When racing resumed Tellstrom and Knight ran nose-to-tail as Austin was trying to poke his nose under Knight. Winters dove under Houston for fourth on the 41st circuit. With only 10 laps to go Cobb’s suspension broke and both Cobb and Lopez slammed hard into the back-stretch wall.

Tellstrom drove the final 10 flawlessly to the $1500 win. Knight collected $1000 for second, $800 went to Austin for third, Houston took home $700 for fourth, and Winters got $600 for fifth. Tellstrom was also presented with a four-foot tall custom built eagle trophy by the Burton family and Mort Houston.

Sixth through 11th place finishers were Collins, Bloom, Braund, DeRosier, Pulyer and Avila. Purse sponsors for this special event were Mort Houston, the Northern California Auto Racing Alumni, and Kaleidoscope Coffee.

Terry Deal added money to the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash with winner Dustin DeRosier pocketing $200, Houston getting $100 for second and Tellstrom collecting $50 for third.

Pulyer passed the most cars to earn the Keyser Manufacturing Hard Charger award. The Naake Shocks certificate was given to Bloom. Collins, Elliott and Salmina received the Frank's Radios bonuses.

The next event for the North State Modified Series will be the “Salute to our Drivers” championship awards banquet on February 1 at Granzella’s in Williams.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, and Franks Radios.

Scott Winters 16.230 NTR; Darrin Knight 16.247; Kyle Tellstrom 16.250; Cameron Austin 16.319; Darrin Sullivan 16.356; Randy Houston 6.372; Charlie Collins 16.405; Ian Elliott 16.474; Dustin DeRosier 16.521; Jason Philpot 16.532; Rich Cobb 16.557; Cody Braund 16.579; Keith Bloom 16.680; Chris Salmina 16.739; Jeremy Nowlin 16.769; Richie Potts 16.903; Nick Lyons 16.905; Stewart Campbell 16.918; Herman Pulyer 17.088; Sal Lopez 17.147; Rick Avila 17.402; Steven Gannon N/T

Dustin DeRosier, Randy Houston, Kyle Tellstrom, Cameron Austin, Jason Philpot

Kyle Tellstrom, Darrin Knight, Cameron Austin, Randy Houston, Scott Winters, Charlie Collins, Keith Bloom, Cody Braund, Dustin DeRosier, Herman Pulyer, Rick Avila, Rich Cobb, Sal Lopez, Ian Elliott, Jason Philpot, Nick Lyons, Chris Salmina, Darrin Sullivan, Stewart Campbell, Jeremy Nowlin, Steven Gannon, Richie Potts