Tuesday, November 28, 2017

NWSLMS Announces 2018 Schedule

Wenatchee, WA (November 27, 2017)–The Northwest Super Late Model Series has entered into agreements with facilities across the Northwest in preparation for an exciting season of racing stretching from April to September of 2018. The series kicks off its fifth season of competition on April 28 with the annual Leonard Evans 150 held at Wenatchee Valley Super Oval.

The North Central Washington quarter-mile hosts two NWSLMS events during the 2018 season and continues as the series anchor track on its schedule. For the second consecutive season WVSO will host the series championship night with the running of the Neal Newberry 125 on September 22.

South Sound Speedway returns to the series schedule with two events in the upcoming season, June 2 and August 18 respectively. In 2017 Mitch Kleyn picked up the victory in the series inaugural visit to the three-eighth mile speed plant.

Officials with the series and Evergreen Speedway management have come to agreement on two events for 2018 (July 28 and Sept. 8). The races mark a return of the series to the famed track for the first time since 2016.

“Our schedule for 2018 provides super late model teams with great venues, outstanding competition from a local and touring level and the challenges of running at three unique facilities. We’re excited to get this schedule out now so that our teams and prospective new drivers can plan for 2018,” said NWSLMS Series Director Jarrod Goodwin. “We still have some open weekends that our series is in discussions to fill with additional dates and venues and we’re hopeful to have further announcements on that in the coming weeks.”

When the series takes the green flag for 2018 it will be Brittney Zamora leading the charge as its reigning champion. Zamora made history in 2017 as the first female race winner on the series which propelled her to the first championship for a female driver in Northwest history.

“Zamora certainly had a breakout year on the series in 2017, she had plenty of challengers along the way to that championship including the hard-charging Jefferson Pitts Racing Rookie of the Year Jan Evans, our South Sound winner Mitch Kleyn, the series second female driver to win a main event in Brooke Schimmel and so many more. We believe 2018 will continue to see a balance of young talent and outstanding veterans battling it out for the championship,” Goodwin said.

The Northwest Super Late Model Series Inc. is the premier regional touring Super Late Model series in the Pacific Northwest. The series has many valued corporate partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, McGunegill Engine Performance, AR Bodies, Accelerated Graphics, Five Star Bodies, Longacre Racing Products, Wheel Chill, KRC Power Steering, Atomic Screenprinting and Embroidery, Franks Racing Radio, BLP, Jefferson Pitts Racing, The Ti Company, Pacific Steel Structures, and Racing Dynamics. For more information on the series visit www.nwslmseries.com or on Facebook or Twitter. To contact the series please email northwestsuperlatemodels@gmail.com

2018 NWSLMS Schedule of Events (Subject to Change)
April 28- Leonard Evans 150, Wenatchee Valley Super Oval, East Wenatchee, WA
May 12- Open date looking to possibly schedule
June 2- South Sound 125, South Sound Speedway, Tenino, WA
July 28- Central Welding 125, Evergreen Speedway, Monroe, WA
Aug. 18- South Sound 125, South Sound Speedway, Tenino, WA
Sept. 8- Les Schwab Championship Night 100, Evergreen Speedway, Monroe, WA
Sept. 23- Neal Newberry 125, Wenatchee Valley Super Oval, East Wenatchee, WA

Contact: Jarrod Goodwin (509) 879-5082