Monday, August 14, 2017

North State Modifieds Return To Ukiah Speedway August 19

Oregon driver Rich Cobb (#16) will be competing with current points leader
Darrin Knight of Kelseyville and the other North State Modified Series drivers
at Ukiah Speedway Saturday night, August 19 (Photo Courtesy Carrie Lauenroth)

Via NSMS Media

Ukiah, CA...... The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, returns to Ukiah Speedway Saturday night, August 19, for its final 2017 visit to the ¼ mile paved oval located at the Redwood Empire Fairgrounds.

Charlie Collins of Upper Lakeport was the big winner last month at Ukiah and will be attempting to do a “repeat” Saturday night. But he will have to battle 2-time NSMS champion Darrin Knight of Kelseyville who finished second to Collins here in July. Knight was victorious in the first two races this year, the first at All American Speedway in Roseville and the second at Lakeport Speedway. To date the series has produced six different winners in seven events.

Knight is the current NSMS points leader by a mere 7 points over Collins. With only four points races left, the duo will be chasing every point possible. A driver earns 75 points for a feature win with 70 points awarded to second place. The standings drop by 2 points from there, plus 2 bonus points for fastest qualifier and 2 bonus points for first place in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash.

2016 Rookie of the Year Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville sits third in points. Sullivan was the winner of the Memorial Day race at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka. Another Kelseyville native, Eric Johnson, holds fourth place, trailing Sullivan by only 7 points.

Fifth place in the standings is Sierra Furia of Lakeport. A tie for sixth is shared by Cloverdale's Dustin DeRosier and Redding driver Cody Braund. Eighth place driver Jason Philpot of Sacramento, a 4-time winner in 2016, will be gunning for his first season victory at Ukiah.

Sitting ninth in points is Kelseyville's Adrianna Strugnell. And moving up rapidly after missing several early season runs is Eric Price Jr. of Rio Linda in tenth. Price won the Sinister Diesel Summer Sizzler at All American Speedway in late June.

Other North State Modified Series 2017 feature winners are Matthew Hicks of San Diego (Madera Speedway) and Randy Houston of Medford, Oregon (Redwood Acres Raceway.)

The North State Modifieds will join Ukiah Speedway's local divisions to bring an evening of fast-paced entertainment to the race fans.

North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Sinister Diesel, Ward Ranches, Penney Racing Supply, American Racer Tires, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Race Fuels, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, DJ Safety, and the Buckhorn Bar & Grill.