Monday, July 24, 2017

Randy Houston Holds Off Knight For NSMS Win At Eureka

Randy Houston of Medford, Oregon is the big winner of race seven of the
North State modified Series at Redwood Acres Raceway Saturday night
(Photo Courtesy Carrie Lauenroth)


July 22, 2017 Eureka, CA...... On his first outing this season, Randy Houston of Medford, Oregon, led all but one round of the 60 lap feature, and held off the challenges of points leader Darrin Knight of Kelseyville to capture Race #7 of the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, at Eureka's Redwood Acres Raceway Saturday night.

Charlie Collins of Upper Lake clocked in quickest over the 19 car field with a 16.267 second lap, earning the Penney Racing Supply/Sunoco Fast Time Award. Kris Price of Rio Linda set second quick time (16.344), Knight was third (16.393) and Houston fourth (16.411.)

Collins drew the number 4 for the invert putting Houston and Knight in the front row. Knight powered to the lead at the start and held that position for a lap and a half, but Houston stayed right by his side and finally pulled ahead and into the lead. Knight dropped back in line followed by Collins, Kris Price, Darrin Sullivan, Eric Price and Dustin DeRosier.

The pack ran nose-to-tail the first 10 rounds, and on lap 11 Houston ran high and Knight poked his nose in the hold. Houston shut the door to maintain his lead. At the same time Sal Lopez retired his car to the pits. Houston's car got loose on lap 14, giving Knight another opportunity, but Houston regrouped and stayed out front. Lap 18 saw Darrin Sullivan steal fourth away from Kris Price.

The lapping process began on lap 20 with Orion Mosher going down a lap, and the leaders caught and passed Adrianna Strugnell on 22. Dave Campbell drove to the pits with a flat tire on 29, missing five laps before returning to action.

At the Buckhorn Bar & Grill half-way point the running order was Houston, Knight, Collins, Sullivan, Kris Price, Eric Price, DeRosier, Eric Johnson, Richie Potts, Sierra Furia, Keith Bloom Jr., Cody Braund, Andy Vanderveer, Tom Ford, Simi Tour, Strugnell and Mosher.

The only yellow flag in the 60 lapper was on the 47th circuit when Mosher spun on the back stretch. Houston powered ahead again on the restart and drove the distance for the $1350 victory. Knight finished a strong second, inches ahead of Collins. Kris Price passed Sullivan in the final laps to finish fourth and Sullivan was fifth. Rounding out the top 10 were Eric Price, Eric Johnson, DeRosier, Furia and Potts.

Potts collected $100 for his win in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash with Kris Price getting $50 for second. Andy Vanderveer passed the most car for the Keyser Hard Charger Award, Cody Braund received the Naake Suspension Award, the DJ Safety Certificate went to Sullivan, and Simi Tour got the Racer Bling Award. Scribner Plastic jugs went to Potts and K Price.

The next race for the North State Modified Series will be at Ukiah Speedway on August 19.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Sinister Diesel, Ward Ranches, Penney Racing Supply, American Racer Tires, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Race Fuels, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, DJ Safety, and the Buckhorn Bar & Grill.

NSMS modified rules, procedures, and schedules are available at

SUNOCO/PENNEY RACING SUPPLY TIME TRIALS: Charlie Collins (16.267), Kris Price (16.344) Darrin Knight (16.393), Randy Houston (16.411), Darrin Sullivan (16.488), Richie Potts (16.510), Eric Price Jr. (16.515), Eric Johnson (16.539), Dustin DeRosier (16.570), Cody Braund (16.573), Sierra Furia (16.659), Dave Campbell (16.684), Tom Ford (16.699), Keith Bloom Jr. (16.715), Simi Tour (16.730), Andy Vanderveer (16.822), Adrianna Strugnell (16.828), Orion Mosher (17.236), Sal Lopez (17.619).

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Richie Potts, Kris Price, Eric Price Jr., Dave Campbell, Randy Houston, Eric Johnson

NORTH STATE MODIFIED FEATURE: Randy Houston, Darrin Knight, Charlie Collins, Kris Price, Darrin Sullivan, Eric Price Jr., Eric Johnson, Dustin DeRosier, Sierra Furia, Richie Potts, Andy Vanderveer, Cody Braund, Tom Ford, Keith Bloom Jr., Simi Tour, Adrianna Strugnell, Orion Mosher, Dave Campbell, Sal Lopez