Thursday, May 19, 2016

North State Mods To Take To The Acres

2015 North State Modified Champion, Darrin Knight of Kelseyville (#20) and
2015 Lakeport Speedway modified champion, Mike Collins of Lakeport (#24)
will be competing at Redwood Acres Raceway Sunday night May 29th.

Via Nadine Strauss/North State Modified Series PR

The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, moves north to Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka this Memorial Day weekend for a full program of auto racing Sunday night, May 29. A Saturday afternoon practice will be held on the 3/8 mile paved oval from 1pm until 6pm. Redwood Acres Raceway is located on the Redwood Acres Fairgrounds at 3750 Harris Street.

This event, featuring The Swartz Diesel Nor-Cal 60 and the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash will be the second race for this touring series. The May 7 event at Shasta Speedway in Anderson was rained out.

The NSMS season opener at All American Speedway produced 24 cars with Jason Philpot of Sacramento the big $1000 winner in the inaugural Sinister Diesel Gene Welch Classic. Philpot was followed across the finish line by Oregon driver Rich Cobb, 2015 Lakeport Speedway champion Mike Collins, Rich Lindgren of Rio Linda, and Keegan Walmer of Charlotte, NC.

Philpot's win places him on top of the NSMS points standings with Cobb second. Collins and Lindgren are tied for third place, with Mitchell and Walmer tied for fifth.

New procedures will be in effect at this event included a restart rule limiting double-file starts to be used for the first 30 laps or three yellow-flag incidents, whichever comes first. In addition the “Lucky Dog” will be a part of the program whereby under any yellow the first car down one lap will drop to the rear of the field and be put back on the lead lap. These procedures were implemented to improve the entertainment value and close competition of the series.

The North State Modified Series will join the local bombers, road runners, thunder roadsters legends cars and mini stocks. For more information visit the North State Modified Series Facebook page or call the NSMS business office at 707-2724-1662.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Swartz Diesel, Lucas Oil, Sinister Diesel, Penney Racing Supply, American Racer Tires, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Fuels, Five Star Bodies, Wrap Star Pro, Wenteq, Scribner Plastics, Renner Petroleum, DJ Safety, and Buckhorn Bar & Grill.