Tuesday, August 8, 2017

Madera Speedway Attracts Strong PCS Field For Saturday

Photo Courtesy Don Thompson

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA (August 8, 2017) - Another talented field of Pacific Challenge Series Super Late Models will be in action on Saturday night, as drivers take to the one-third mile Madera Speedway for the seventh round of the 2017 series. The PenneyLawyers.com sponsored action will be a 75 lap contest with drivers from several different disciplines coming together for the big race.

The PCS has not had a repeat winner in 2017 and has seen five of the six races go to first time winners. The trend began with the season opener in March at Madera. Carlos Vieira's win was not only in his first PCS start but made for his first touring stock car victory of his popular career. His win was followed by first-time wins for Derek Copeland, Jeff Bischofberger, and Cole Moore, before Cole's father John won at Stockton on July 1st. Randy Hedrick was yet another first time winner when he scored a late race win at Ukiah two weeks ago.

2015 champion John Moore leads 2014 champion Mike Beeler of Modesto by 10 points entering Madera. 2015 Rookie of the Year Cole Moore trails John by 30 points in a close three-way duel for the lead.

A host of drivers will try to knock the points contenders off of their pedestal in search of the race win on Saturday. Not only will Vieira defend his March win, he will have to contend with the likes of 2016 Madera PCS winner Jacob Gomes as well.

A pair of 51FIFTY Jr. Late Model standouts - Eric Nascimento, Jr. and Austin Herzog - will make their series debuts. Herzog, 15, is the winningest Jr. Late Model driver with five career wins while Nascimento, 16, won the most recent Jr. Late Model race on July 29th.

Watsonville's Alexander Mead has adopted Madera as his home track and claimed a top-ten in his series debut in March. He was the track's Late Model Rookie of the Year in 2015. Ross Strmiska has competed with touring series many times at Madera recording a trio of runner-up finishes. Local favorite Justin Westmoreland goes to bat for the Ford fans whenever he brings out his red #9 entry and has a career-best third in touring action at the track.

2016 Rookie of the Year Matt Wendt of Galt nearly claimed victory at Ukiah and is eager to chase his first series win from fourth in the points ahead of 2017's leading rookie Jack Wood of Loomis. Jason Romero, Travis Milburn, Tracy Bolin, Chris Scribner, and Jeremy Doss make up the rest of the top-ten in the points.

11th in points Mike Hite of Elk Grove and 14th in points Matt Scott are also expected to compete on Saturday. For Scott, it will mark his first stock car start at Madera after racing Legends cars at the track several years ago. The four-time Late Model champion has a best PCS finish of third this year at Roseville and has yet to score a PCS victory on his strong resume.

This weekend's racing will also include the Super Hobby Stocks, CSS 360 Super Modifieds, USAC HPD Midgets, Modified Super Toyotas, and F4's.

An open practice kicks off the weekend on Friday with pit gates open at 2 p.m. and practice from 5 p.m. - 8 p.m. Saturday's Pit Gates open at 1 p.m. with first practices at 3:15 p.m. and racing by 6:30 p.m. Ticket prices for this great night of racing have been slashed, with Adults $15, Seniors and Military $13, youth 6-12 $7, and kids five and under are free! For more information on the Pacific Challenge Series, visit www.PacificChallengeSeries.com or follow them on Facebook or YouTube

The Pacific Challenge Series is presented by: Penney Racing Supply, Penney & Associates, American Racer Tires, Radio Law Talk, Compact-It, Northwest Compactors, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Fuels, Five Star Bodies, BrakeOMeter, Lefthander Chassis, ARP Bodies, Joes Racing Products, Bassett Wheels, Frank's Radio, WrapStar Pro, and Blakesley Sports Media. All PCS Super Late Models race ABC Bodies or Muscle Car bodies on American Racer Tires with Sunoco Racing Fuel.

2017 Pacific Challenge Series Schedule

March 18th - Madera Speedway (Madera, CA) Winner: Carlos Vieira

April 15th - All American Speedway (Roseville, CA) *CANCELLED*

May 6th - Shasta Speedway (Anderson, CA) Winner: Derek Copeland

May 20th - Stockton 99 Speedway (Stockton, CA) Winner: Jeff Bischofberger

June 17th - All American Speedway (Roseville, CA) Winner: Cole Moore

July 1st - Stockton 99 Speedway (Stockton, CA) Ron Strmiska Memorial Winner: John Moore

July 29th - Ukiah Speedway (Ukiah, CA) Winner: Randy Hedrick

August 12th - Madera Speedway (Madera, CA)

September 2nd - Stockton 99 Speedway (Stockton, CA)

October 14th - All American Speedway (Roseville, CA) *2017 Championship Finale* w/ North State Modified Series & NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West)