Sunday, June 25, 2017

Eric Price Clinches NSMS Sinister Diesel Summer Sizzler At All American Speedway

Eric Price, Jr. is interviewed by track announcer Steven Blakesley after winning the
Sinister Diesel Summer Sizzler at All American Speedway in Roseville Saturday night
(Photo Courtesy Carrie Lauenroth)

Via NSMS Media

June 24, 2017 ...Roseville, CA...... Race #5 of the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, took place at All American Speedway in Roseville Saturday night, and it was the local boys who placed up front with Eric Price Jr. of Rio Linda taking home the Ward Ranches top honors, followed by Loomis driver Michael Mitchell, Jason Philpot of Sacramento and Kris Price, also of Rio Linda in the Sinister Diesel Summer Sizzler.

Philpot turned the fastest lap in the 21 car field, clocking in at 13.816 seconds to earn the Penney Racing Supply/Sunoco Fast Time Award. He drew the number 6 for the invert in the 60 lap feature putting Lake County's Darrin Knight and Charlie Collins in the front row. Michell and Eric Price started in row two with Kris Price and Philpot in row three.

Collins forged ahead at the start until the first yellow flag flew on lap 3 when Simi Tour's car lost a spring that rolled down on the track. Collins and Knight ran side-by-side the next three rounds with Mitchell tight on their bumpers. The race was slowed again when Dave Campbell spun in turn two. When racing resumed Knight inched into the number-one slot. Mitchell drove under Collins for second, and on lap 11 Philpot, Kris Price and Eric Price slipped under Collins.

Adrianna Strugnell battled engine problems all day and finally retired her mount to the pits on 13. Knight continued to lead, but Mitchell made several attempts to pass, only to settle back into the second spot. The lapping process began on lap 20, and two rounds later Philpot was hit from behind which sent his car off the track into the dirt infield. His car came back on the asphalt, shot across the track right into the side of Sal Lopez's car. Lopez was done for the night.

Knight powered ahead again on the restart, and at the half way point it was Knight, Mitchell, Kris Price, Eric Price, Philpot, Collins, Eric Johnson, Richie Potts, Campbell, Darrin Sullivan, Sierra Furia, Jake Andreotti, Rich Cobb, Austin Wentworth and Steven Owens.

On lap 33 Mitchell tried to get around Knight on the high side, but when his efforts failed, Eric Price moved to the outside next to Mitchell. Philpot swapped places with Kris Price on the 36th circuit. Knight's car pushed slightly and it was all Mitchell needed to fill the hole and steal the lead away. Eric Price followed his line moving Knight back to third.

The race was slowed again on lap 41 when a shock fell off one of the cars setting the stage for a single-file restart. When racing resumed Philpot drove under Knight for third and Kris Price passed Knight on the high side on 49. Meanwhile Eric Price was challenging Mitchell, and with only 7 laps to go he found a hold down low and charged into the lead. The final yellow flew on lap 57 when Sierra Furia drove under Cody Braund, pushed high with both spinning in turn two.

The closing laps was Price out in front, and at the checkered flag it was Eric Price, Mitchell, Philpot, Kris Price, Knight and Collins. Also finishing all 60 laps were Johnson, Campbell, Potts, Cobb, Sullivan and Furia.

Johnson collected $100 for his win in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash. Potts finished second for $50. Other award winners were Rich Cobb (Keyser Hard Charger Award), Darrin Knight (Naake Suspension Award), Adrianna Strugnell (DJ Safety Certificate) and Dustin DeRosier (Racer Bling Award.)

The North State Modified Series comes back north to Ukiah Speedway on July 8 for the “Protect the Harvest Nor Cal 60.”

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Sinister Diesel, Ward Ranches, Penney Racing Supply, American Racer Tires, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Race Fuels, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, DJ Safety, and the Buckhorn Bar & Grill.
NSMS modified rules, procedures, and schedules are available at

SUNOCO/PENNEY RACING SUPPLY TIME TRIALS: Jason Philpot (13.816), Kris Price (13.918), Eric Price Jr. (13.962), Michael Mitchell (13.964), Darrin Knight (13.981), Charlie Collins (13.981), Dave Campbell (13.986), Darrin Sullivan (14.108), Eric Johnson (14.150), Sierra Furia (14.230), Cody Braund (14.233), Richie Potts (14.341), Jake Andreotti (14.400), Simi Tour (14.406), Rich Cobb (14.421), Austin Wentworth, (14.423), Dustin DeRosier (14.433), Sal Lopez (14.610), Steven Owens (14.717), Cody Thompson (N/T)

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Eric Johnson, Richie Potts, Simi Tour, Sierra Furia, Jake Andreotti, Rich Cobb

SINISTER DIESEL SUMMER SIZZLER: Eric Price Jr., Michael Mitchell, Jason Philpot, Kris Price, Darrin Knight, Charlie Collins, Eric Johnson, Dave Campbell, Richie Potts, Rich Cobb, Darrin Sullivan, Sierra Furia, Austin Wentworth, Cody Braund, Steven Owens, Jake Andreotti, Sal Lopez, Dustin DeRosier, Adrianna Strugnell, Simi Tour, Cody Thompson (DNS).