Wednesday, August 3, 2016

Idaho 200 Pre Race Notes

Via Northwest Super Late Model Series Media

WHAT: Idaho 200
Race No. 5 of 8

WHERE: Stateline Speedway
Post Falls, ID

WHEN: August 5 & 6, 2016

DISTANCE: 200 Laps/ 50 Miles

SANCTION: Northwest Super Late Model Series (NWSLMS)

PROMOTER: Stateline Speedway

THE RACETRACK: Stateline Stadium Speedway is a high-banked .250-mile oval with a Figure 8 track embedded as well. Elevated concrete grandstands make for amazing views of the action for spectators.

1. 100 JC Wofford
2. 24 Joey Bird
3. 73 Gary Lewis
4. 83. Braeden Havens
5. 9 Josh Roberts
6. 5 Ryan Wells
7. 05 Zach Moran
8. 96 Jake Bisset
9. 51 Glenn Knutson
10. 1 Mitch Kleyn

2016 Northwest Super Late Model Series Top 10 Points
1. Garrett Evans 208
2. Ryan Wells 160
3. Nicole Behar 152
4. Brittney Zamora 150
5. Mitch Kleyn 148
6. Ed Thomsen 146
7. Braeden Havens 144
8. Shelby Thompson 133
9. Clint Habart 112
10. Glenn Knutson 109


The 17th Annual Idaho 200 will mark the second trip to Stateline Speedway for the 2016 season.
Big Field- Over 25 cars are expected for this weekend’s race. Only two drivers in the field have won the Idaho 200 before, Garrett Evans and Blake Williams.

Championship Watch- The series is starting the second half of the 2016 season and Garrett Evans leads the way in the championship standings after winning 3 of the first 4 races. Behind Evans there are close battles throughout the standings with many drivers looking for good finishes as the series heads into the second-half of the season.

“Watch out for the Bird on the track!!”- After a amazing performance last year and coming all the way through the field from the back of the pack to finish second, Joey Bird will be making his 2016 NWSLMS debut this weekend.

64 x 3-Yes, three cars in the field will show the 64 on the door. Two of the cars will be out of the Evans Racing stable with Garrett Evans in one and his 15 year-old son, Jan, driving the other. Montana young gun Brock Denny will be driving the other 64 car.

Momentum-Both Mitch Kleyn and Clint Habart will look to continue the success they had during the Idaho Tune Up 150 held in June where both drivers would capture there series best finishes of 3rd and 4th place.

Montana driver Ryan Wells will look for continued success at Stateline Speedway where he has captured a victory and multiple poles over the past few seasons. Wells currently sits second in the championship standings with four races remaining.

Jefferson Pitts Racing Rookie of the Year Watch- Brittney Zamora currently leads the way over Dirk Bennett. Drivers will get the opportunity to drop one race for the end of the year points.

• It has been several seasons since an Idaho driver has won the Idaho 200. Eagle, ID native John Dillon was the last Gem State resident to win the race (2010). Could that change? Three drivers from Idaho will have a chance this weekend: Terry Armstrong Jr., Corey Allard and Trevor Cristiani.

The Northwest Super Late Model Series takes few weeks off but stays in the inland Northwest for Spokane Super Oval August 20th. The Northwest Super Late Model Series is the premier regional touring Super Late Model series in the Northwest. The series has many great sponsors including Hoosier Racing Tire, McGunegill Engine Performance, Port City Race Cars, AR Bodies, Joes Racing Products, KRC Power Steering, Five Star Bodies, Longacre Racing Products, Wheel Chill, Racers Against Child Abuse, Atomic Screenprinting and Embroidery, Franks Racing Radio, BLP and Racing Dynamics. For more information on the series visit or visit the series on Facebook or Twitter. To contact the series please email