Showing posts with label Rick Andersen. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rick Andersen. Show all posts

Monday, June 27, 2016

Linstroth Claims Sinister Diesel Summer Sizzler At All American Speedway

Jim Badeker's car (#17) wheel-hops Sal Lopez (#02) sending him hard into the wall
(Photo Courtesy Carrie Lauenroth)

By Nadine Strauss

June 25, 2016 - Roseville, CA - The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, returned to All American Speedway in Roseville Saturday night with a record number of 25 modifieds competing in the Sinister Diesel Summer Sizzler 60. The 100+ degree weather did not slow down the competition as five drivers ran in the 13 second bracket with Charlie Collins of Upper Lake on top of the charts with a 13.792 qualifying effort, only .089 seconds off Kris Price's track record of 13.703 seconds.

Collins drew a 6 pill for the invert placing Keegan Walmer of Charlotte, NC and Michael Mitchell of Loomis in the front row. Mitchell pulled ahead at the drop of the Buckhorn Bar & Grill green flag with Walmer in second, Rich Lindgren of Rio Linda third, Upper Lake's Charlie Collins fourth and 2014 NSMS champ Jay Linstroth of Citrus Heights fifth.

As the field was completing the first lap, Jim Badeker and Sal Lopez were running side-by side when Badeker's car wheel-hopped Lopez's mount. The action sent Badeker air-borne, and when the car hit the track again it shot straight into the turn one concrete. The impact broke the fuel pump dumping burning fuel across the race track. Badeker climbed out of the burning car uninjured as the All American Speedway safety crew worked hard to extinguish the reigniting flames.

After a lengthy cleanup, which included a medical emergency in the grandstands, the cars were realigned. Before another lap was completed the yellow flew again when Josh Blackwood and John Baker made contact with Baker spinning in turn four. Walmer pulled into the pits under yellow, relinquishing his second place spot. This left Mitchell and Lindgren sharing the front row, but after three unsuccessful even starts, officials moved both cars to the second row, swapping places with Collins and Linstroth.

Collins and Linstroth had a clean start with Collins out in front. Linstroth dove under Collins to steal the lead the following round. Collins' car pushed high on lap five allowing both Mitchell and Lindgren to slip by. Rick Andersen swapped places with Collins on lap 12 as points leader Darrin Knight and Rookie-of-the-Year contender Darrin Sullivan were fighting for sixth.

Lap 18 saw Mitchell's car slow, stalling on the track to bring out the third caution. Mitchell was pushed to the pits, ending his bid for the win. The single-file restart gave Linstroth the advantage and once again he took control of the race. Four circuits later Andersen drove under Lindgren for second. Lindgren's car also experienced problems and he pulled off the track on lap 29.

The Swartz Diesel half-way mark top ten were Linstroth, Andersen, C. Collins, Sullivan, Knight, Nick Lyons, Richie Potts, Mike Collins, Walmer and Bryan Denton.

The second half of the 60 lapper saw Codi Barba, Luke Kaper and Dave Campbell gain positions on Denton, but Denton took the spot back from Campbell in the final rounds. Linstroth held off Andersen to take the win with C, Collins, Sullivan and Knight next across the finish line. Rounding out the top ten were Mike Collins, Lyons, Potts, Walmer and Barba. Linstroth entertained the packed house with a series of spins and burnouts.

In the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash Lindgren collected $100 for the win, with Linstroth getting $50 for second. Barba earned the Wenteq Hard Charger Award for starting 23rd and finishing tenth. Charlie Collins took home the Naake Suspension award, and the DJ Safety Certificate went to Mike Collins. The Scribner Plastics went to Andersen and Lyons. Charlie Collins also earned the Penney Racing Supply/Sunoco Fast Time Award.

The next North State Modified Series event will be at Ukiah Speedway on July 9 for the Protect the Harvest North Coast 60.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Swartz Diesel, Lucas Oil, Sinister Diesel, Penney Racing Supply, American Racer Tires, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Fuels, Five Star Bodies, Wrap Star Pro, Wenteq, Scribner Plastics, DJ Safety, and the Buckhorn Bar & Grill.

SUNOCO/PENNEY RACING SUPPLY TIME TRIALS: Charlie Collins (13.792), Jay Linstroth (13.828), Jason Philpot (13.8693), Rich Lindgren (13.900), Michael Mitchell (13.938), Keegan Walmer (14.005), Rick Andersen (14.042), Bryan Denton (14.072), Darin Snider (140.93), Randy Houston (14.118), Mike Collins (14.126), Cody Thompson (14.129), Darrin Sullivan (14.132), Richie Potts (14.142), Nick Lyons (14.195), Darrin Knight (14.198), Jim Badeker (14.206), Sierra Furia (14.237), Luke Kaper (14.244), Sal Lopez (14.364), Dave Campbell (14.474), Josh Blackwood (14.669), Codi Barba (14.712), John Baker (15.069), C.J. Christman (N/T).

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Lindgren, Linstroth, Andersen, Charlie Colllins, Houston, Philpot

SINISTER DIESEL SUMMER SIZZLER 60: Linstroth, Andersen, C. Collins, Sullivan, Knight, M. Collins, Lyons, Potts, Walmer, Barba, Kaper, Denton, Campbell, Furia, Blackwood, Lindgren, Houston, Mitchell, Baker, Snider, Badeker, Lopez, Thompson, Christman (DNS), Philpot (DNS)