Sunday, October 14, 2018

Price Brothers On Top At All American Speedway

Eric Price II was the big winner in the North State Modified Series 2018 finale at All American Speedway Saturday night. (Photo Courtesy Chris Anderson)

By Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

October 13, 2018... Roseville, CA.... The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, ended its 2018 racing season at All American Speedway in Roseville, California Saturday night with Eric Price II of Rio Linda taking home top honors in the Hoosier NSMS October Classic. His brother, Kris Price of Sacramento, clinched the 2018 North State Modified Series championship with his second place finish in the time-shortened event. Keith Bloom of Redding drove the Bob Lehman/Steve Thomas #27B to his season best third place finish. Guy Young, also from Redding placed fourth, and Lakeport's Ian Elliot also had a season best fifth place run.

Twenty-five modifieds were on hand for the season finale which ran in conjunction with the NASCAR K & N Pro Series and the championship race for the Pacific Challenge Series late models. The Ward Land Management and Development Time Trials saw Michael Mitchell clock in quickest in his Sinister Diesel modified with a 14.196 second lap. Kris Price was next at 14.255. Cameron Austin turned a 14.302 and Eric Price was 14.317. Travis McCullough ran a 14.367 second lap, and defending champion Darrin Knight was sixth at 14.372.

Mitchell pulled the six pill for the invert placing Knight and McCullough in the front row for the start of the feature. Row two belonged to Eric Price and Austin. Kris Price and Mitchell shared row three.

Knight powered out in front of McCullough at the drop of the green flag with Eric Price riding his bumper into second. With only two laps down McCullough lost control in turn four. With no where to go Sal Lopez was collected and smacked the track's newly-placed interior barrier.

The following round Lopez stalled on the track to bring out the second yellow flag. When racing finally got under way Knight led the way with Eric Price second, Cameron Austin third, Dustin DeRosier fourth and Mitchell fifth. Austin slid by Eric Price for second on lap five.

At the same time Knight's engine started to smoke, and when he entered turn one Knight dropped oil the entire width of the track in front of the charging pack. Knight slid side-ways but regained control, but the rest of the front-runners were not so lucky. Austin was the first to spin in the oil causing a nine-car pile up that involved Mitchell, Dustin DeRosier, Darrin Sullivan, Eric Johnson, Hunter Corbitt, McCullough, Rick Avila and Terry Shannon. In spite of the “big one”, all drivers were able to continue except Knight and Mitchell.

The lengthy cleanup put a damper on the the 45 minute time period that was allotted for this event, but when the track was race-ready again Eric Price found himself in the lead followed by Kris Price, Terry Deal, Bloom, Jason Philpot and Guy Young.

The next 12 laps ran smoothly until lap 19 when Deal hit the temporary interior barrier, knocking it off-course and into the infield. Once again it took precious time to remove Deal's car from the track and replace the chicane. Speedway official's called for a green-white-checkered finish, but that also ended in turmoil when Austin hit McCullough, causing McCullough to spin coming down for the final lap.

Eric Price was declared the winner followed by 2018 champion Kris Price, Bloom, Young, Elliott, DeRosier, Philpot, David Campbell, Sullivan, Corbitt, Shannon, Didoha, Mike Neilson, Johnson, McCullough, Austin, Deal, John Baker, Avila, Mitchell, Knight, Lopez and William Camara. Don Shalla and Bud Anderson developed mechanical problems and were unable to start the race.

Eric Price earned the Ward Land Management first place bonus of $250 to add to his $1000 top prize. He also received a tool chest from Napa Auto Parts.

Bloom captured his second straight Lucas Oil Dash for Cash worth $100. McCullough earned $50 for his second place finish in the dash. The Naake shocks certificate went to Guy Young. The Frank's Radio gifts were given to David Campbell, Terry Shannon and Dale Didoha.

The next event for the North State Modified Series will be the 2018 Champions Awards Banquet celebration on January 26 at Granzella's in Williams. For more information on the series visit

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Ward Land Management & Development, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Scribner Plastics and Frank's Radios. #####

WLM&D TIME TRIALS: Michael Mitchell (14.196), Kris Price (14.255), Cameron Austin (14.302), Eric Price II (14.317), Travis McCullough (14.367), Darrin Knight (14.372), Jason Philpot (14.376), Darrin Sullivan (14.429), Dustin DeRosier (14.456), Terry Deal (14.540), Hunter Corbitt (14.580), Guy Young (14.602), Eric Johnson (14.702), Keith Bloom (14.712), William Camara (14.808), Mike Neilson (14.815), Rick Avila (14.828), Terry Shannon (14.851), Ian Elliott (14.893), Don Shalla (14.943), Dale Didoha (14.974), Sal Lopez (15.015), Dave Campbell (15.132), John Baker (15.635), Bud Anderson (DNQ).

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Keith Bloom, Travis McCullough, Hunter Corbitt, Guy Young, William Camara, Mike Neilson

SUNOCO / WLM&D FEATURE EVENT: Eric Price II, Kris Price, Keith Bloom, Guy Young, Ian Elliott, Dustin DeRosier, Jason Philpot, David Campbell, Darrin Sullivan, Hunter Corbitt, Terry Shannon, Dale Didoha, Mike Neilson, Eric Johnson, Travis McCullough, Cameron Austin, Terry Deal, John Baker, Rick Avila, Michael Mitchell, Darrin Knight, Sal Lopez, William Camara.