Friday, September 21, 2018

North State Modified Series Returns To Shasta Speedway

Jason Philpot of Sacramento (#15a) and Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville (#21) were the previous winners of the “Lloyd Burton Against the Wind Modified Challenge.” The third annual event will be held this Saturday night (September 29) at Shasta Speedway in Anderson, CA. (Photo Courtesy Jenna Meyer)

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, returns to Shasta Speedway in Anderson, California Saturday night, September 29 for the third annual “Lloyd Burton Against the Wind Modified Challenge” with $1500 to win and $300 to start the 60 lap feature race.

Burton, a long-time supporter of auto racing in the Redding-Chico area, was the head official at Shasta Speedway when the facility was promoted by Bob Carrel in the 1990s.He was a native of Shasta County, was involved in racing and promoting his entire adult life, and officiated at several tracks in northern California. He was also the founder of the Northern California Auto Racing Alumni (NCARA.)

Burton's brother-in-law, Mort Houston, along with other family members, friends, NCARA, Strauss Promotions and NSMS, have added over $5000 to the purse to make it a special event. Burton's nephew and past Shasta Speedway track champion, Randy Houston, will be piloting his #9 NSMS modified in this event in memory of his uncle.

This memorial event first ran in 2016 with Jason Philpot of Sacramento the winner. In 2017 Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville took home the first place money and the trophy. Both these driver's names were engraved on the four foot tall hand-caved perpetual trophy and resides in the North State Modified Series office in Lucerne, California.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Ward Land Management & Development, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Scribner Plastics and Frank's Radios.