Sunday, July 8, 2018

Kris Price Scores Second Win In North State Modified Series

Kris Price raises his hands to the crowd at All American Speedway after his win in the North State Modified Series (Photo Courtesy Carrie Lauenroth)

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

July 7, 2018 Roseville, CA.... The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, held its fifth race of 2018 at the All American Speedway in Roseville, CA Saturday night, and it was Kris Price of Sacramento who led all but six laps to claim his second season victory, and move back into the NSMS points lead with a three point margin over Jason Philpot.

Price collected $1000 for his win plus the $250 bonus from Ward Land Management and Development (WLM&D.) Price's brother, Eric Price II of Rio Linda finished second, taking home a total of $850. Dustin DeRosier of Cloverdale was third, Santa Rosa's Cameron Austin crossed the line in fourth, and Darrin Sullivan from Kelseyville finished fifth.

Philpot, who was two points ahead of Price going into the night's action, set fast time of 14.289 seconds over the 20 car field. Austin clocked in second fast at 14.327. Eric Price was third at 14.350, Kris Price turned a 14.356 second lap, and Terry Deal was fifth quick at 14.358.

An eight-car inversion put Jake Andreotti and Sullivan in the first row, DeRosier and Deal in row two, the Price brothers in row three, and Austin and Philpot in row four. Sullivan forged at the start , but Andreotti ran the high side, challenging for the lead at each pass until the race was slowed on lap four when Aaron Coonfield, Guy Young and Rich Cobb were involved in a crash. Both Young and Cobb's cars sustained enough damage to end their runs.

Sullivan took control again at the double-file restart with both K. Price and DeRosier driving under Andreotti for second and third. The yellow flag flew again two more times in the early laps, the first when Terry Deal hit the wall on the front-stretch, and the second when Sal Lopez drove hard into the turn one concrete.

This time K. Price shot out in front on the restart, and both E. Price and Philpot moved ahead of DeRosier. E. Price swapped places with Sullivan on lap 15 just before the race was slowed again for a Terry Shannon spin.

A long green-flag run saw K. Price, E. Price and Philpot gain distance on the rest of the pack until lap 28 when Philpot drove in too hard, hit E. Price resulting in Price spinning around. At the same time Andreotti pitted with a flat tire.

K. Price continued his domination with DeRosier, Sullivan, Austin, Keith Bloom, Ian Elliot, Deal and Eric Johnson next in line at the half-way mark. E. Price and Philpot were working their ways back to the front, and with only 10 laps to go E. Price was back to third.

The final caution came on lap 55 when Bloom's car broke loose and spun on the back-stretch. Time restraints created a green-white-checkered situation with K. Price crossing the Sunoco checkered flag first followed by E. Price, DeRosier, Austin and Sullivan. Philpot rebounded to finish sixth with Deal, Elliot, Johnson and Ralph Bailey rounding out the top ten.

Guy Young collected $100 for his win in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash with Rich Cobb taking home $50 for second. The Keyser Hard Charger award went to Kris Price. Bloom won the Naake Shocks certificate, and the Frank's Radios awards went to Sullivan, Deal and Elliott. Young and Cobb took home the Scribner Plastic jugs.

Race #6 of the North State Modified Series “Driving Out Cancer Tour” will be on July 21 at Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Ward Land Management & Development, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics and Frank's Radios. #####

WLM&D TIME TRIALS: Jason Philpot (14.289), Cameron Austin (14.327), Eric Price II (14.350), Kris Price (14.356), Terry Deal (14.358), Dustin DeRosier (14.386), Darrin Sullivan (14.423), Jake Andreotti (14.446), Ian Elliott (14.459), Eric Johnson (14.535), Aaron Coonfield (14.559), Adam Coonfield (14.568), Rich Cobb (14.570), Guy Young (14.579), Keith Bloom (14.653), Sal Lopez (14.702), Rick Avila (14.810), Terry Shannon (15.120), Ralph Bailey (N/T), Dale Didoha (N/T)

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Guy Young, Rich Cobb, Keith Bloom, Sal Lopez, Rick Avila, Terry Shannon

SUNOCO / WLM&D FEATURE EVENT: Kris Price, Eric Price II, Dustin De Rosier, Cameron Austin, Darrin Sullivan, Jason Philpot, Terry Deal, Ian Elliott, Eric Johnson, Ralph Bailey, Keith Bloom, Terry Shannon, Adam Coonfield, Aaron Coonfield, Rick Avila, Sal Lopez, Guy Young, Rich Cobb, Dale Didoha (dns).