Sunday, June 10, 2018

Cameron Austin Captures First North State Modified Win At Madera

Cameron Austin is all smiles as he celebrates his first North State Modified Series win at Madera Speedway Saturday night. NSMS flagman Johnny Miskill presents Austin with the Sunoco checkered flag signed by all his fellow competitors
(Photo Courtesy Jenny Myers/Top dog Photography)

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

June 9, 2018 Madera, CA.... The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, was a part of the Lucas Oil Summertime Horsepower Nationals at Madera Speedway Saturday night, and it was Cameron Austin of Santa Rosa who led the 18 car field all the way to the Sunoco checkered flag for his first NSMS victory. Austin collected the $1000 top prize plus the $250 bonus from Ward Land Management and Development (WLM&D.)

Second place finisher Eric Price II of Rio Linda collected $800 plus a $150 WLM&D bonus. Kris Price, Sacramento, finished third and took over the NSMS points lead from Randy Houston who missed the race due to prior commitments. Kelseyville's Eric Johnson placed fourth and moved up to third in the points standings, and Brian Collins of Camino finished fifth.

Eric Price II set the fastest time during the WLM&D time trials with a 15.029 second lap, only .45 of a second quicker than Austin's 15.074. Price drew the number 6 pill for the invert in the 60 lap feature putting Las Vegas driver Aaron McMorran and Kelseyville's Darrin Sullivan up front for the start. Second row starters were Redwood Acres Raceway winner Jason Philpot of Sacramento and Terry Deal of Roseville.

Only one lap had been completed when McMorran and Sullivan made contact, sending them both spinning in front of the tight pack. Both Philpot and Deal were collected in the incident while Austin, Eric Price, Kris Price, Darrin Knight and Johnson slipped through.

The leaders stayed grouped up until lap 14 when the yellow flag flew for a spin in turn two involving Rich Cobb and McMorran. McMorran retired the the pits, but Cobb continued.

Just as the pack was coming down to take the green flag for the restart, the 87 car, driven by Eric Hamilton, lost power and stalled on the back stretch for another yellow flag. The next time the race tried to restart, Darrin Knight's transmission broke and his car stopped on the track.

When racing finally resumed Austin continued to lead as a mid-race battle was brewing with Collins and Johnson swapping places on each lap. Deal, Philpot, and Sullivan fought their ways back through traffic as the race continued non-stop the final 47 laps.

At the checkered flag the leaders were nose-to-tail with Austin the winner over Eric Price, Kris Price, Johnson, Collins, Deal, Philpot, Sullivan, Ian Eliott, Keith Bloom, Dustin DeRosier, Cobb, Herman Pulyer, Adam Coonfield and Rick Avila.

McMorran was the $100 winner in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash, and Philpot collected $50 for his second place finish. Bloom earned the Keyser Hard Charger award for starting last and finishing 10th. Deal won the Naake Shocks certificate, and the Frank's Radios awards went to Austin and the Price brothers. Scribner Plastics jug were presented to Eric Price.

Race #4 of the North State Modified Series “Driving Out Cancer Tour” will be at Ukiah Speedway on June 23.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Ward Land Management & Development, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics and Frank's Radios. #####

WLM&D TIME TRIALS: Eric Price II (15.059), Cameron Austin (15.074), Terry Deal (15.101), Jason Philpot (15.117), Darrin Sullivan (15.122), Aaron McMorran (15.169), Kris Price (15.189), Darrin Knight (15.262), Eric Hamilton (15.271), Eric Johnson (15.298), Brian Collins (15.308), Herman Pulyer (15.435), Ian Elliott (15.460), Adam Coonfield (15.484), Dustin DeRosier (15.525), Rich Cobb (15.533), Rick Avila (15.675), Keith Bloom (15.678)

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Aaron McMorran, Jason Philpot, Eric Price II, Terry Deal, Cameron Austin, Kris Price

SUNOCO / WLM&D FEATURE EVENT: Cameron Austin, Eric Price II, Kris Price, Eric Johnson, Brian Collins, Terry Deal, Jason Philpot, Darrin Sullivan, Ian Elliott, Keith Bloom, Dustin DeRosier, Rich Cobb, Herman Pulyer, Adam Coonfield, Rick Avila, Eric Hamilton, Darrin Knight, Aaron McMorran