Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Pacific Challenge Series Round #2 Saturday At Shasta

Photo Courtesy Dan Thompson

Via PCS Media

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA (April 18, 2018) – Round #2 of the 2018 Pacific Challenge Series presented by will hit the 3/8th mile Shasta Speedway in Anderson, CA on Saturday night. The largest facility on the series’ calendar hosts the PCS twice in 2018, with local drivers aiming to challenge the touring stars of Northern California’s Super Late Model Series.

Saturday’s races take place during the “Kool April Nights” classic car event taking place throughout the area, making for a gearheads paradise in the north state.

Carlos Vieira won the 2018 season opener for the PCS at Madera Speedway in March. Vieira dominated the 75 lapper but faced company late in the race from hard-charging Randy Hedrick of Reno, NV. Hedrick settled for second place with 2015 series champion John Moore in third.

The 2017 visit to Shasta attracted an outstanding 18 car field and saw 2009 All American Speedway champion Jason Romero set fast-time and win the American Racer Tire dash before a flat tire knocked him from the lead on lap 18. Cole Moore also ran strong before he succumbed to mechanical problems late in the race.

Derek Copeland scored the hometown victory with John Moore coming home second and 2017 champion Mike Beeler finished fourth. Roseville’s Shannon Mansch and Galt’s Matt Wendt, both expected on Saturday night, finished fifth and sixth respectively. Other local Shasta drivers expected to compete include Ryan Peeples and Trevor Harrison. Willow’s Dane Nissen will make his return to the series as well. Nissen scored one top-five in last year’s Super 6 series that utilizes similar rules to the PCS. In 10 starts in the former North State Challenge Series, Nissen finished on the podium at Shasta twice.

Shasta is one of the few tracks where 14-time racing champion Dave Byrd has not yet visited victory lane. He came close in July 2007 – his last trip there – when he finished second in the SRL Southwest Tour series. June 2016 Shasta PCS winner Tracy Bolin finished third in that particular event as well.

Three-time All American Speedway champion Matt Scott will make his first start of the season, still searching for his first PCS victory.

Racing action on the 3/8ths mile will also include Bombers, Hornets, and Legends of the Pacific. Racing gets started on Friday with practice. Gates open at 1 p.m. with practice under the lights from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. Pit passes are $45. On Saturday, gates open at noon with a $45 pit pass fee and a $100 PCS entry fee. Practice, qualifying, and racing will follow.

Discount racer rate hotels are available at the Best Western Anderson Inn and Gaia Hotel. Mention Shasta Speedway for the rate.

For more information on the Pacific Challenge Series presented by, visit or follow them on Facebook or YouTube

The Pacific Challenge Series is presented by: Penney Racing Supply, Penney & Associates, American Racer Tires, Radio Law Talk, Compact-It, Northwest Compactors, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Fuels, Five Star Bodies, BrakeOMeter, Lefthander Chassis, ARP Bodies, Joes Racing Products, Bassett Wheels, Frank's Radio, WrapStar Pro, and Blakesley Sports Media. All PCS Super Late Models race ABC Bodies or Muscle Car bodies on American Racer Tires with Sunoco Racing Fuel.

2018 Pacific Challenge Series presented by Schedule
Subject to Change
March 31 Madera Speedway (Madera, CA) *Thunder & Lightning w/ USAC & BCRA*
April 21 Shasta Speedway (Anderson, CA) *Kool April Nights*
May 19 Ukiah Speedway (Ukiah, CA) *North State Challenge*
June 23 Shasta Speedway (Anderson, CA) *Shasta Fair*
July 21 Stockton 99 Speedway (Stockton, CA) *Summer Classic*
August 11 Madera Speedway (Madera, CA) *Thunder & Lightning II w/ USAC & 360 Supers*
September 8 All American Speedway (Roseville, CA) *Back to School*
October 13 All American Speedway (Roseville, CA) *October Classic 100*

PCS Track Stats – Shasta

#05 Eric Schmidt
Starts: 5, Wins: 4, Top-Fives: 4, Top-Tens: 5

#75 Jeremy Doss
Starts: 4, Wins: 1, Top-Fives: 3, Top-Tens: 3

#5 Ryan Peeples
Starts: 5, Wins: 0, Top-Fives: 0, Top-Tens: 2

#24 Derek Copeland
Starts: 3, Wins: 1, Top-Fives: 1, Top-Tens: 2

#39m Jason Mitchell
Starts: 3, Wins: 0, Top-Fives: 0, Top-Tens: 0

#11 Tracy Bolin
Starts: 2, Wins: 1, Top-Fives: 1, Top-Tens: 1

#20 Cole Moore
Starts: 2, Wins: 0, Top-Fives: 1, Top-Tens: 1

#1 Matt Wendt
Starts: 2, Wins: 0, Top-Fives: 0, Top-Tens: 2

#27 John Moore
Starts: 2, Wins: 0, Top-Fives: 1, Top-Tens: 2

#6 Mike Beeler
Starts: 2, Wins: 0, Top-Fives: 1, Top-Tens: 1