Sunday, October 15, 2017

Kris Price Wins NSMS Finale, Knight Bags Third Championship

Kris Price talks with NSMS flagman Johnny Miskill with the 51FIFTY girls. Price received a
Napa tool box for winning the Sinister Diesel October Classic (Photo Courtesy Carrie Lauenroth)

Via NSMS Media

October 14, 2017.. Roseville, CA ...... Kris Price of Sacramento was the big winner of the Sinister Diesel October Classic at All American Speedway in Roseville Saturday night during the 2017 grand finale of the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest. Jason Philpot of Sacramento finished second with Charlie Collins of Upper Lake taking third place. Price also set fast time over the 24 car field earning the $100 Sunoco/Penney Racing Supply fast time award, and the Keyser Hard Charger Award.

Price inherited the lead on lap 31 of the 60 lap feature when Eric Price Jr tagged the back of race leader Darrin Knight's car hard enough to turn Knight around. But Knight rebounded to finish sixth to clinch the NSMS championship by only 10 points over Collins.

A six-car invert put Eric Price and Michael Mitchell starting in row one, Collins and Knight in row two, and Wes Miller and Kris Price in the third row. Eric Price and Mitchell ran side-by-side for seven laps before Price pulled ahead to take the lead. Knight and Kris Price ran third and fourth with Collins fifth and Miller sixth.

Mitchell looked to the outside of Price again opening the door for Knight to slip underneath. Once again Mitchell drove the high side next to Knight for four more laps before Knight secured second place on 16. The race was halted on lap 22 when Aaron Coonfield's car stalled on the track and had to be pushed to the pits.

Knight forged ahead on the restart with Kris Price swapping places with Mitchell for third. Jason Philpot was moving up, and at the Economy Heating & Air half-way marker it was Knight, Eric Price, Kris Price, Philpot, Mitchell, Collins, Eric Johnson, Miller, Dustin DeRosier, Terry Deal, Rich Lindgren, Darrin Sullivan, Sierra Furia, Dave Campbell, Nick Lyons, Richie Potts, Jake Andreotti, Coonfield, Rick Avila, Adrianna Strugnell, and Idaho driver Marc Newman.

Contact with Eric Price on lap 31 took Knight's hopes of a third season victory away and left Kris Price the new leader. Four rounds later Rich Lindgren spun Terry Deal, and under yellow Deal throttled into Lindgren so hard that Deal's car landed on top of the Lindgren car, ending both of their runs.

Kris Price continued to lead with Philpot, Mitchell, Collins, Johnson, Miller, DeRosier and Sullivan next in line. Collins dove under Mitchell for third on lap 44 as the leaders were weaving through lapped traffic. Miller took position away from Johnson on lap 48 as Knight was working his way back to the front. Knight drove by both Sullivan and DeRosier on lap 52 and set his sights on Johnson.

The last yellow flew on lap 54 when Newman spun in turn one. The final circuits saw Knight sneak by Johnson, and at the checkered flag it was Kris Price, Philpot, Collins, Mitchell, Miller, Knight, Johnson, DeRosier, Sullivan and Furia. Price was presented with a full-size Napa tool chest in the winner's circle, courtesy of Bill McAnally Racing. Knight was honored as the 2017 North State Modified champion in front of the capacity crowd.

Johnson won the Naake Suspension Award, the DJ Safety Certificate went to Furia, and Knight got the Racer Bling Award. Scribner Plastic jugs went to Coonfield and Andreotti.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Sinister Diesel, Ward Ranches, Penney Racing Supply, American Racer Tires, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Race Fuels, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, DJ Safety, the Buckhorn Bar & Grill, Economy Heating & Air, and Mort Houston.

SUNOCO/PENNEY RACING SUPPLY TIME TRIALS: Kris Price (13.766), Wes Miller (13.834), Darrin Knight (13.848), Charlie Collins (13.866), Michael Mitchell (13.883), Eric Price Jr., (13.887), Rich Lindgren (13.907), Jason Philpot (13.928), Dustin DeRosier (13.932), Eric Johnson (13.985), Sierra Furia (13.990), Darrin Sullivan (14.202), Terry Deal (14.078), Aaron Coonfield (14.094), Nick Lyons (14.155), Adrianna Strugnell (14.280), Jake Andreotti (14.292), Richie Potts (14.320), Dave Campbell (14.341), Jim Badeker (14.376), Marc Newman (14.401), Rick Avila (14.593), Dale Didoha (14.627), Sal Lopez (14.652)

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Aaron Coonfield, Jake Andreotti, Terry Deal, Nick Lyons, Dave Campbell, Jim Badeker

SINISTER DIESEL OCTOBER CLASSIC : Kris Price, Jason Philpot, Charlie Collins, Michael Mitchell, Wes Miller, Darrin Knight, Eric Johnson, Dustin DeRosier, Darrin Sullivan, Sierra Furia, Eric Price Jr., Jake Andreotti, Nick Lyons, Richie Potts, Dave Campbell, Aaron Coonfield, Adrianna Strugnell, Rick Avila, Marc Newman, Rich Lindgren, Terry Deal, Jim Badeker, Sal Lopez, Dale Didoha