Monday, April 24, 2017

Knight Shines In North State Modified Season Opener

#20 Darrin Knight of Kelseyville is interviewed by track announcer Steven Blakesley
after winning the North State Modified season opener at All American Speedway

April 22, 2017 .... Roseville , CA...... Defending champion Darrin Knight of Kelseyville came from eighth starting and passed leader Darin Snider on lap 12 to collect $1000 in the 2017 season-opener for the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, at All American Speedway in Roseville, CA Saturday night. The event was the second annual Sinister Diesel Gene Welch Classic.

In the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash Bryan Denton collected $100 for the win, with Eric Johnson getting $50 for second. Both drivers also hail from Kelseyville.

The event drew a record number of 26 NSMS modifieds to the Placer County facility with Charlie Collins earning the $100 Sunoco/Penney Racing Supply fast time award. Collins drew a 10 for the invert putting Lakeport's Sierra Furia and Redding's Cody Braund in the front row for the 60 lap feature. Cody Thompson of Fremont and Santa Rosa's Cameron Austin were in row two. Snider and Joe Rhodes Jr started in row three, Eric Price Jr and Knight shared row four, and Jason Philpot and Collins lined up in row five.

As the field was coming out of turn four for the original green flag, a seven-car pile-up eliminated Rhodes and Sal Lopez. When racing finally got under way Braund pulled ahead of Furia with Thompson moving into third. Two laps later Furia drifted high allowing Thompson, Snider, Knight, Price and Philpot to gain position.

The race was slowed again on lap five when Codi Barba spun in turn two. Braund chose the outside lane for the restart and quickly relinquished his lead to Snider and Knight. Price drove around Braund for third on lap 10.

The yellow flag flew again on the 11th circuit when Oregon driver Rich Cobb lost control in turn four. When racing resumed Knight took control, and five rounds later Price made an inside pass on Snider for second. By lap 20 Snider's car developed a handing problem allowing Philpot and Collins to move into third and fourth.

The lapping process began on 23 with Knight easily picking his way through slower traffic. Price, Philpot, Collins and Snider did the same on the long 49-lap caution-free run. Knight took the checkered flag first for the win followed by Price, Philpot, Collins, Snider and Braund. Rounding out the top 10, and eligible for $200 in the Lucas Oil Tow Money program were Johnson, Austin, Darrin Sullivan and Dustin DeRosier. Finishing 11th through 15th, and eligible for $100 Lucas Oil tow money were Terry Deal, Furia, Denton, Adrianna Strugnell and Cobb.

14 year old rising sprint car shoe Jake Andreotti, driving for Protect the Harvest modified, finished 16th in his asphalt debut, followed by Simi Tour, Wade Coleman, Thompson, Barba, Tyler Wentworth, John Baker, Rhodes and Lopez. Richie Potts and Kris Price both suffered mechanical problems and were not able to start.

Race 2 for this popular series will be at Lakeport Speedway on Saturday May 6.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Sinister Diesel, Penney Racing Supply, American Racer Tires,Wrap Star Pro, Naake Suspension, Sunoco Race Fuels, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Wenteq, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, DJ Safety, and the Buckhorn Bar & Grill.

NSMS modified rules, procedures, and schedules are available at

SUNOCO/PENNEY RACING SUPPLY TIME TRIALS: Charlie Collins, 13.785; Jason Philpot, 13.802; Darrin Knight, 13.843; Eric Price Jr, 13.854; Joe Rhodes Jr, 13.913, Darin Snider, 13.941; Cameron Austin, 13.957; Cody Thonmpson, 13.992; Cody Braund, 14.052; Sierra Furia, 14.058; Terry Deal, 14.090; Jake Andreotti, 14.111; Rich Cobb, 14.138; Eric Johnson, 14.155; Codi Barba, 14.209; Bryan Denton, 14.220, Dustin DeRosier, 14.237; Darrin Sullivan, 14.239; Tyler Wentworh, 14.286; Sal Lopez, 14.410; Wade Coleman, 14.490; Simi Tour, 14.508; Adrianna Strugnell, 14.547; John Baker, 15.260, Richie Potts, NT; Kris Price NT.

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Bryan Denton, Eric Johnson, Codi Barba, Rich Cobb, Jake Andreotti, Terry Deal

SINISTER DIESEL GENE WELCH CLASSIC : Darrin Knight, Eric Price Jr, Jason Philpot, Charlie Collins, Darin Snider, Cody Braund, Eric Johnson, Cameron Austin, Darrin Sullivan, Dustin DeRosier, Terry Deal, Sierra Furia, Bryan Denton, Adrianna Strugnell, Rich Cobb, Jake Andreotti, Simi Tour, Wade Coleman, Cody Thompson, Codi Barba, Tyler Wentworth, John Baker, Joe Rhodes Jr, Sal Lopez, Rich Potts (DNS), Kris Price (DNS).