Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Neal Newberry 125 WVSO Pre-Race Notes

WHAT: Neal Newberry 125

WHERE: Wenatchee Valley Super Oval in East Wenatchee, WA

WHEN: September 10, 2016

DISTANCE: 125 Laps/ 37.5 Miles

SANCTION: Northwest Super Late Model Series (NWSLMS)


CONTACTS: Doug Pace, NWSLMS (509) 294-0495
George Wade, WVSO (530) 510-7858

THE RACETRACK: The high-banked .250-mile oval is known as one of the fastest and nicest short tracks in the country. The facility is located on the plateau above East Wenatchee, WA with snowcapped mountains in the background. The track is a shared facility with the NCW Gun Club.

2016 Northwest Super Late Model Series Top 10 Points
Garrett Evans 297
Ryan Wells 242
Braeden Havens 238
Mitch Kleyn 231
Brittney Zamora 222
Ed Thomsen 205
Glenn Knutson 176
Clint Habart 169
Dave Garber 163
Blake Williams 161

Top 10 at Neal Newberry 150 in 2015
Owen Riddle
Braeden Havens
Garrett Evans
Josh Roberts
Glenn Knutson
Dave Garber
Nicole Behar
Mitch Kleyn
Tayler Riddle
Jason O’Neil


This will be the second trip to Wenatchee Valley Super Oval for the Northwest Super Late Model Series in 2016. Shelby Thompson won the Leonard Evans 150 back in April.
Championship Wins- Garrett Evans won his previous two series championships with consistency in finishing in the top 5 but had no wins in the first two years. This season Evans is looking to three-peat based on four wins in six series races this year.
Girl Power- For the second time in NWSMLS history three female drivers will start in a race. This weekend will showcase Jefferson Pitts Racing Rookie of the Year leader Brittney Zamora, 17, young gun Brooke Schimmell, 15, making just her second start in a SLM and returning to the series will be Evergreen Speedway standout Molly Helmuth, 21.
Home Cooking- The return to Wenatchee means the return to the home track for series regulars Evans, Mitch Kleyn and Glenn Knutson. Evans has been on fire with wins but Kleyn has been coming on in the past 3 races with three top 10s including two Top-5 performances. Knutson is looking for a change of luck after having some mechanical issues last race. The 2015 series Rookie of the Year finished fifth in this race a year ago.
Evergreen Invasion- Four Evergreen Speedway regulars will be making the trip to WVSO for the Neal Newberry 125 including Doni Wanat, Andy Sole, Tyler Tanner and Molly Helmuth.
Coming North- Three drivers from the state of Oregon will be racing in the Neal Newberry 125 including Alan Cress from Stayton, OR making his return to the series. Willie Thompson of La Pine, OR and Andrew Koens of Roseburg, OR will both be making their series debut.

• Keeping the Hardware Local- It’s been two years since a Wenatchee Area driver has won a NWSLMS Race at WVSO. This weekend seven drivers will be looking to keep the hardware in the Valley including past winners Evans, Shane Mitchell and Harris along with Knutson, Kleyn, Josh Roberts and Jan Evans.

The Northwest Super Late Model Series will head to the historic Yakima Speedway September 30th- October 2nd for the 29th Annual Fall Classic and 2016 NWSLMS Championship event. This race has seen over 35 cars each of the last 2 years. More information on www.yakimaspeedway.us

The Northwest Super Late Model Series is the premier regional touring Super Late Model series in the Northwest. The series has many great sponsors including Hoosier Racing Tire, McGunegill Engine Performance, Port City Race Cars, AR Bodies, Accelerated Graphics, Joes Racing Products, Five Star Bodies, Longacre Racing Products, Wheel Chill, KRC Power Steering, Racers Against Child Abuse, Atomic Screenprinting and Embroidery, Franks Racing Radio, BLP, Jefferson Pitts Racing and Racing Dynamics. For more information on the series visit www.nwslmseries.com or visit the series on Facebook or Twitter. To contact the series please email northwestsuperlatemodels@gmail.com