Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Henderson clinches title for Moulton in substitute role

By Matthew J. Sullivan

It was a fine evening for racing this past Saturday night at Redwood Acres Raceway. It was Mid City Motor World Night at the Races and all six local divisions were in action including the late model division which was running its final point paying event of 2016.

Prior to the racing action starting, Redwood Acres Raceway and its fans paid tribute to the late Nyle Henderson. Henderson was a former racer at Redwood Acres Raceway and was a fixture at the Acres for more than 30 years. Nyle Henderson is the father of the late, Steve Henderson who was also a driver at Redwood Acres Raceway in the 80s on the dirt and the 90s on the pavement. Henderson is also the grandfather of current RAR driver, David Henderson.

James Nichols was fast time in the California State and Federal Employee Credit Union roadrunner division with a 20.763. Dominic Vogelsang won the trophy dash while heat race victors were Ken Barrett and Nichols. The 20-lap feature started off with the cars running in the opposite direction. The race was slowed early when Gage Ethridge hit the wall in turn three. Ken Barrett led the opening two laps before Vogelsang took over. Even after the cars were turned around to run the proper direction around the track, Vogelsang was dominant. At the finish it was Vogelsang taking his first main event win. Nick Ford placed second followed by Nichols, Barrett and Tyler Peach.

Qualifying for the Humboldt Hydroponics mini stocks was paced by Brian Murrell, Sr. with a 19.045. Gary Klinetobe took trophy dash honors while heat races were won by Brian Murrell, Jr. and Rick Estes. The 25-lap feature was led early on by Brian Murrell, Jr. On lap six, Rick Estes took over and never looked back. The best battle for the rest of the race was for third between Jarrett Mayo, Klinetobe, Palmer and Murrell, Jr. At the front, Estes was able to hold on and withstand a late charge by Murrell, Sr. to take the win. Mayo took third, Klinetobe fourth and Palmer rounded out the top five.

Brad Curtice set quick time for the Legends class with a 18.001 qualifying time. Robert Miller took the trophy dash win while Curtice took the heat race victory. Curtice and Miller resumed their season-long battle in the 25-lap main event. In spite of Curtice leading from start-to-finish, it was a tight race between the two. At the finish it was Curtice taking the win over Miller, Anissa Curtice and M’Kinzy Uselton.

Kolby Jackson was fast time for the Fortuna Wheel and Brake bomber division with a 18.276. The trophy dash saw an unfortunate accident between John Lally, Ray Taylor, Sr. and Jordon Paiment which sent Paiment hard into the wall. While Paiment was okay, he was finished for the night. Jackson won the dash. The heat race was taken by Taylor, Sr. Steven Taylor led the opening lap of the 25-lap main before Jackson took over the lead. Jackson would never fall out of the top position. The event was cut short of its scheduled distance when Lally spun in turn three. James Moore had nowhere to go and slammed into Lally’s rear-end. Thankfully both drivers were okay. Officials declared the race official with Jackson being the winner. Ray Taylor, Sr. was second while Moore was credited with third. Shane Toole finished fourth while Steven Taylor placed fifth.

The fastest driver in Thunder Roadster qualifying was Ronnie O’Neil with a 17.339. Aaron Byers won the trophy dash while Tommy Payne took the heat race. Jett Taylor led the first lap of the 30 lap main but on lap two it was Byers in the lead. The highlight of the race was for third between Donnie Brown, O’Neil and Payne. On lap 19, Payne finally prevailed to move into third. Nobody had anything for Byers on the night as he took the win in dominating fashion. Taylor placed second followed by Payne, O’Neil and Brown.

13 Mid City Motor World late models took time with David Henderson setting fast time with a 15.828. Henderson was racing as a substitute for Mic Moulton who was injured in the most recent race on August 20th. Henderson’s role as Moulton’s sub took an even bigger role on the night as the points champion in the division was on the line and Moulton was the points leader over Marty Walsh.

Walsh took the trophy dash win while heat race victories went to Kenny Demello and Henderson. Demello led the opening lap of the 50-lap feature before giving way to Corey James. James’ time up front was short as Henderson moved to the lead on lap six. Meanwhile, Walsh was having to play catch up having been involved in an opening lap tangle which put him at the rear of the field.

Racing came to a halt on lap 30 and several cautions slowed the race. The most notable incident involved Dustin Walters and Walsh with both going to the rear. Henderson looked to have the dominant car but began suffering issues. On lap 38, James maneuvered back to the lead. Two laps later a major incident in turn four brought out the yellow. Officials deemed the race official with James taking the win and Henderson helping Moulton claim the championship. Walsh recovered to finish third while Robbie Nelson and Ken Hallis rounded out the top 10.

Racing at Redwood Acres Raceway returns Saturday September 24th for the final points race of the season presented by Maxwell’s Custom Automobiles. The late models will be off but the other five local classes will be in action to determine who will win the track championships in each division. Concluding the event will be the second boat race of 2016.

2016 at the Acres concludes October 7th, 8th, and 9th with the return of the Fall Spectacular. Late models and modifieds highlight the event while roadrunners, bombers, mini stocks, Legends and Thunder Roadsters will also be in action. For more information about the Fall Spectacular including entry forms and purse payout please visit Redwood Acres Raceway’s official website, www.racingtheacres.com