Thursday, September 29, 2016

Entry List For $10K To Win Short Track Shootout At Madera Released

MADERA, CALIFORNIA (September 29, 2016) – A pre-entry list of more than 50 cars has been released for the fourth annual Short Track Shootout, coming October 8th to LoanMart Madera Speedway. These drivers and many more are expected to battle for 125 laps for $10,000 to win in the prestigious MAVTV-televised event. The Short Track Shootout has grown incrementally each year to become one of the top Late Model events in the nation and serves as the eighth and final 2016 points race for the LoanMart Late Models as well.

Matt Erickson has already sewn up the championship in the series, as the all-time winningest series driver has five wins and two second place finishes this year for a commanding points lead. 2007 Altamont champion Ryan Philpott got his first win in several years when he won the most recent LoanMart LM race on September 24th and ranks second in the series standings.

Erickson and Philpott will take on challengers from all over the Western United States, including NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West champions and Short Track Shootout winners Mike David of Modesto and Eric Holmes of Escalon. For Holmes, his resume in the Short Track Shootout is 2-for-2 with the 2014 and 2015 editions, while David won it in 2013. The driver that has come the closest to victory might be 2016 NASCAR State and Irwindale Speedway champion Trevor Huddleston. Huddleston will return again for another shot at the five figure first place prize.

The top drivers from the Stockton area, who share a race shop, of Larry Tankersley and Dennis Byers will both travel south to Madera. 2015 LoanMart Late Model champion Buddy Shepherd, who is a perfect 10-for-10 at Kern County Raceway Park in 2016, returns from Bakersfield to compete as well.

2012 and 2016 Pacific Challenge Series champion Jeremy Doss of Upperlake, CA, that series' winningest driver, is also entered. Doss won the PCS event at Madera in August as part of his preparation for this race. With track and series champions from virtually every major stock car series in California represented, picking a winner will not be easy for the race fans.

Race fans will be treated to a very low ticket price thanks to sponsors LoanMart, 51FIFTY Energy Drink, and Twisted Tea. Adult tickets are now only $15, seniors and military are only $13, youth ages 6-12 are only $7, and kids five and under are free.

The jam-packed program will see the top-ten qualifiers make the show and then redraw for their starting positions. Positions 11-20 will be filled by the top-two finishers from each of the five heat races. A B Main fills out the rest of the 26 car starting lineup. The entire program is a one-day show with Friday's activities only including an optional practice. The B Main will pay $1000 to win among several bonus awards being posted. Former Altamont regular Doyal Moen, now residing in Jermone, ID, won the random draw of pre-entries to have his entry paid in full.

Not only will there be a 50 car LoanMart Late Model event, but season finales for the 51FIFTY Jr. Late Models and Super Hobby Stocks are also scheduled. The 51FIFTY Jr. Late Models are the only series of its kind in the world for drivers ages 10-16. The series is currently led by 12 year-old Dezel West of Las Vegas, with other race winners this year including 11 year-olds Austin Edwards of Mentone, CA and Ben Silliker of Alberta, Canada. 13 year-old Austin Herzog of Clovis will run double-duty in both the Jr. Late Models 50 and attempt to qualify for the Short Track Shootout 125. Several new drivers are expected to join the field for its largest car count of 2016.

A major feature event everywhere they go is the Lucas Oil Modified Series with a $5000 to win, 75 lap feature on their agenda as well. This is the second appearance of the series at Madera this season with Ukiah's Kyle Tellstrom winning on June 11th. Former Madera Speedway track champion Scott Winters of Tracy, CA is usually the top "home track" threat against drivers who come from several different western states to compete. More than 30 cars typically compete in Lucas Oil Modified Series races which are also televised on MAVTV.

LoanMart Madera Speedway's youngest drivers in the California Mini Cups get an opportunity to compete on the big stage as well.

Friday practice will see gates open for parking at 11 a.m. with cars on track from 3 p.m. - 9 p.m. Saturday will start early with pits opening at 9 a.m. Practice will begin at 10:30 a.m. with qualifying at 12:45 p.m., heat races, Modified and Late Model b-mains, and the Mini Cup main event at 3:30 p.m. Opening ceremonies will be at 5:30 p.m. with the features for the Late Models, Jr. Late Models, Super Hobby Stocks, and Lucas Oil Modifieds.

Madera Speedway is located on the Madera Fairgrounds on Cleveland Ave and 99. For more information, visit

Race fans can catch up on LoanMart Madera Speedway racing with "Madera Racing" airing Thursdays on MAVTV at 8 p.m. Eastern / 5 p.m. Pacific. LoanMart Madera Speedway racing is also available on the LucasOilRacing.TV app

Short Track Shootout LoanMart Open Late Model pre-entry list
List as of 9-29-16
# - Ronnie Roberts- Fresno, CA
03 - Nick Joanides – Woodland Hills,CA
2 - Adam Coonfield - Modesto, CA
6 - Dennis Byers - Stockton, CA
7 - Bryan Herzog - Clovis, CA
9 - Larry Tankersley - Stockton, CA
9 - Elliott Sterjne
11 - Austin Herzog - Clovis, CA
14 - Mike Bristow - Stockton, CA
16 - Alexander Mead - Watsonville, CA
18 - Craig Rayburn - Simi Valley, CA
20 - Dennis Furden - Santa Clarita, CA
21 - Eric Holmes - Escalon, CA
21 - Aaron Mullins –Fresno,CA
21 - Blaine Rocha - Oakdale, CA
22- Buddy Shepherd – Bakersfield, CA
24 - Dominic Lopez - San Leandro, CA
26 - Del Mcintosh - Madera, CA
27T - Kevin Thompson - Madera, CA
28 - Trevor Schlundt - Clovis, CA
28 - Henk Gaalswyk – Ripon, CA
38 - Ryan Hart - Dos Palos, CA
40 - Dylan Caldwell - Idaho
41 - Howard Holden - Clovis, CA
42 - Matt Erickson - La Grange, CA
45 - Jason Agguire - Atwater, CA
45 - Sean Woodside – Saugus, CA
50 - Trevor Huddleston – Aguora Hills, CA
50 - Justin Philpott - Tracy, CA
52 - Ryan Cansdale – Laguna Beach, CA
52 - Ryan Philpott - Livermore, CA
53 - Kyle Gottula - Modesto, CA
54 - Donny St. Ours - Upland, CA
55 - Kent Cam – Madera, CA
57 - David Ross - Colton, CA
60 - Doyal Moen - Jerome, ID
70 - Chris Trickle - Las Vegas, NV
71 - Carl Pearce - Hilmar, CA
73 - Garland Tyler - Modesto, CA
75 - Jeremy Doss - Upperlake, CA
77 - Mike David - Modesto, CA
77 - Rick Thompson - Fresno, CA
81 - Ray Mayer - North Fork, CA
82 - Dennis Schlundt - Fresno, CA
88 - Dillon Tucker - Madera Ranchos, CA
88 - Denny Cashada – Redwood Valley, CA
89 - Shelden Cooper - Clovis, CA
90 - Ross Strmiska - Manteca, CA
92 - Logan Zampa - Napa, CA
96 - Loren Kutz - Madera, CA
96 - Chris Lyon - Coulterville, CA
98 - Glen Cook - Mariposa, CA
99 - Jason Rhodes