Friday, August 19, 2016

Three Races Left To Determine The 2016 Spears SRL Southwest Tour Series Championship

By The Numbers:

1 – The September 17th race at Tucson Speedway will be the 1st time in series history the SPEARS Southwest Tour will compete on the 3/8 mile Arizona oval.

3 – Championship points leader Derek Thorn is shooting for his 3rd SPEARS Southwest Tour Series championship title. Thorn has never competed at Tucson Speedway.

7 – The upcoming SPEARS Southwest Tour Series event at Tucson Speedway is the 7th race of the 2016 championship season.

11 – Keith Spangler has the most Tucson Speedway starts of any active SPEARS Southwest Tour Series driver with eleven.

12 – Twelve drivers are currently on the SPEARS Frequent Flyer Program, which guarantees a minimum of $1,000 to each driver for starting each SPEARS Southwest Tour Series race.

13 – Thirteen rookies have competed in 2016. Christian McGhee has held the Rookie-of-the-Year points lead since the season opener in Las Vegas.

16 – The NASCAR Southwest Tour has competed at Tucson Speedway a total of sixteen times in its series history.

45 – Forty-five different drivers have taken the green flag in SPEARS Southwest Tour Series events in 2016.

70 – Defending SPEARS Southwest Tour Series champion, Jacob Gomes will make his 70th career series start at the Tucson Speedway event. Gomes, 23 will be tied with Scott Sanchez for 4th on the all-time starts list.

540 – There is a maximum of 540 championship points available to a driver over the final three races. This means 11 drivers still have a mathematical shot at the 2016 SPEARS Southwest Tour Series championship.

639 – Total laps run so far in the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series 2016 championship.

1968 – Tucson Speedway was built in 1968, originally as a clay oval.

2004 – October 2004 was the final time the NASCAR Southwest Tour competed at Tucson Speedway; three-time SPEARS Southwest Tour Series champion, Jim Pettit II, won the race.

5,000 – The next two SPEARS Southwest Tour Series events will pay $5,000 each to the winners. Tucson Speedway and Kern County Raceway

10,000 – The 2016 championship finale, at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on November 19th, will pay $10,000 to the winner of the race. Thank you to Retro Custom Metals for the bonus to the winner’s share of the purse.

For more information, go to

About SPEARS MANUFACTURING: Spears Manufacturing is a world leader in plastic piping products. SPEARS’ maintains over one million square feet of manufacturing facilities in four states and nine distribution centers across the USA for worldwide distribution. For more information go to 

About the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series:
Celebrating its sixteenth season in 2016, the SPEARS Southwest Tour Series is a regional stock car series competing on paved ovals in the southwestern portion of the U.S. “The SPEARS Southwest Tour Series…Where the Champions Race”.

Follow the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series on facebook (Spears Srl Southwest Tour) and on Twitter at