Monday, September 30, 2019

NSMS Lloyd Burton Challenge At Shasta Speedway Saturday

Scott Winters (Ferrari Racing Team #24) is the current NSMS points leader going into Saturday’s event. Darrin Sullivan (#21) won the event in 2017. Photo by Don & Jenna

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

Anderson, CA…...The North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, will run its 2019 grand finale’ at Shasta Speedway this Saturday night. It will be the final points race for the NSMS drivers. They will be competing for $1500 to win in the 4th annual “Lloyd Burton Against the Wind Modified Challenge” plus a custom designed wooden eagle trophy courtesy of Burton’s brother-in-law, Mort Houston.

The event is co-sponsored by Kaleidoscope Coffee, Northern California Auto Racing Alumni, Mort Houston and the Burton family. Lloyd Burton, a long-time supporter of auto racing in the Redding-Chico area, was the head official at Shasta Speedway when the facility was promoted by Bob Carrel in the 1990s.

He also served as head official at Lakeport Speedway for five years and officiated at several other race tracks in Northern California. A native of Shasta County, Burton was involved in racing and promoting his entire adult life, He was also the founder of the Northern California Auto Racing Alumni (NCARA.)

Burton's nephew and past Shasta Speedway track champion, Randy Houston of Medford Oregon, will be piloting his #9 NSMS modified in this event in memory of his uncle.

This memorial event first ran in 2016 with Jason Philpot of Sacramento the winner. In 2017 Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville took home the first place money and the trophy. 2018 saw Kris Price of Sacramento come out on top. These driver's names are engraved on the four foot tall hand-caved custom perpetual trophy and resides in the North State Modified Series office in Lucerne, California.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, and Franks Radios.