Sunday, August 4, 2019

Winters Breaks Track Record, Wins NSMS Race At Madera

Scott Winters (#24) makes the winning pass on Cameron Austin (#7c) on lap 17 of the Protect the Harvest 60 lap NSMS feature at Madera Speedway. (Photo By Jenna Meyer and Don Bloom)

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

Madera, CA…. August 3, 2019….. Scott Winters of Tracy set a new NSMS Hoosier Tire track record at Madera Speedway Saturday night and went on to win his first feature event in the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest. Winters’ win bolted the Ferrari Farms team to a margin of only nine points behind Cameron Austin of Santa Rosa in the NSMS championship race. He also was named the Keyser Hard Charger for the night.

Winters drew a number four for the invert in the 60 lap feature placing former champ Darrin Knight of Kelseyville and Austin in the front row. Sacramento’s Jason Philpot and Winters shared row two. Austin forged ahead at the start with Winters diving under Philpot where the duo battled for third the next four rounds. Philpot then took several attempts to get around Knight and finally made that pass stick to assume the second position on lap seven. Two laps later Winters drove under Knight and set his sights on Philpot. Meanwhile Austin was putting a healthy distance between his car and the rest of the pack.

Winters inched under Philpot at the line just before the yellow flew for a Darrin Sullivan – Brian Collins confrontation that resulted in Collins spinning on the back stretch.

Austin chose the outside lane for the restart where he ran side-by-side with Winters for five circuits before Winters took the lead. At the same time Philpot and Knight were battling for position as Collins worked his way back up to fifth and Sullivan rebounded back to sixth.

The leaders gracefully worked their ways through lapped traffic until lap 56 when Dale Didoha spun on the front stretch for caution number two. The final four laps saw Winters drive to his first NSMS victory over Austin, Philpot, Knight, Collins, Sullivan, Keith Bloom, Rick Avila and Didoha. Ian Elliott and Dustin DeRosier were early-race dropouts.

Bloom collected the $100 for his second consecutive win in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash. Didoha finished second for $50. They also both went home with Scriber jugs. Collins earned the Naake Shocks award. Winters, Austin and Bloom were the recipients of the Frank’s Radios gift cards.

The next North State Modified series race will be the inaugural event for the six-year old series at Douglas County Speedway in Roseburg, Oregon on August 24.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, and Franks Radios.

Scott Winters 15.005 NTR; Jason Philpot 15.094; Cameron Austin 15.098; Darrin Knight 15.153; Dustin DeRosier 15.198; Brian Collins 15.398 ; Darrin Sullivan 15.462 ; Ian Elliott 15.512; Sal Lopez 15.583; Keith Bloom 15.600; Rick Avila 16.029; Dale Didoha 18.110

Keith Bloom, Dale Didoha, Brian Collins, Ian Elliott, Rick Avila, Sal Lopez

Scott Winters, Cameron Austin, Jason Philpot, Darrin Knight, Brian Collins, Darrin Sullivan, Keith Bloom, Sal Lopez, Rick Avila, Dale Didoha, Ian Elliott, Dustin DeRosier