Sunday, July 7, 2019

Nowlin, Morrison In Winner's Circle At Lakeport Speedway

Lakeport Speedway flagman Johnny Miskill throws both the American flag and the checkered flag for modified winner Jeremy Nowlin in front of the packed-house. Photo by Russell Bishop

Via Nadine Strauss/NCRA Media

July 5 2019…… Lakeport, CA….. Premiering his new #77 modified, Jeremy Nowlin of Kelseyville made an outside pass on Richard Knight of Kelseyville on lap 17 and drove to a $500 victory at Lakeport Speedway Friday night during the “Hillside Honda Night at the Races.” Nowlin also won the modified trophy dash.

A very surprised Josh Morrison of Clearlake inherited the win in the Taco Bell Bombers after leaders Mike Sullivan and Lauren Snider were involved in a turn-4 crash that eliminated both of the front-runners. Denny Burrell of Ripon had a clean sweep in the NCMA Sprint Cars. Frankie Guerrini of San Rafael drove to victory in the BCRA midget main event, and Tommy Belifore of Castro Valley drove his 1965 Edmunds/Chevy II midget to a run-away win in the BCRA Vintage division.

The 30-lap modified feature saw Richard Knight power passed pole setter Michael Knight at the drop of the green flag. Nowlin drove the high side to swap places with Michael Knight on lap two. As Michael Knight faded, Eric Johnson and Mickey Snider were battling with Snider slipping into the third slot on lap six.

Nowlin caught Richard Knight, and the duo fought a side-by-side battle for six rounds before Nowlin completed the outside pass. The non-stop race was run in less than seven minutes with Nowlin first across the finish line followed by Richard Knight, Snider, Johnson, Darrin Sullivan and Michael Knight.

Johnson set fast time of 12.956 seconds and Richard Knight won the heat race.

Evan Smith was the early leader in the Taco Bell bomber main event with John McCullough running second. Snider came from seventh starting to second in only five laps and set his sights on Smith. Meanwhile Sullivan was working his way from the back to the front.

Snider caught and passed Smith on lap eight to take over the lead. Sullivan passed McCullough in lapped traffic and drove under Smith for second on 12. The next 10 laps saw Snider and Sullivan fighting for the number one spot with Sullivan finally pulling ahead.

With only five laps to go, Smith spun in turn three to bring out the only caution in the 30 lapper. The double-file restart saw Sullivan and Snider rubbing fenders, and when they reached turn four, the two cars made contact and both pushed hard into the wall. The race was checkered flagged with Morrison declared the winner. Rick Jelton finished second followed by Trevor Avella, Davey Jones, McCullough and Smith.

Snider was fast qualifier and won the trophy dash. Smith and Sullivan were heat race winners.

The evening concluded with a huge up-close Pyro Spectaculars fireworks display presented by Hillside Honda of Lakeport.

The next auto race at Lakeport Speedway will be on Saturday, July 27. Competing will be the NCRA Modifieds, Taco Bell Bombers, Legends Cars, Jammers, Bandoleros, and Pro-4 Modifieds. Gates open at 5 pm with racing at 6 pm.

NCRA races at Lakeport Speedway are presented by Hillside Honda, Anderson Logging, Taco Bell, D & P Pools, Lake County Tribal Health, Lake Parts, Carlton Tires, Don Anderson Law Firm, Clearlake Redi-Mix, Steve Taylor Construction, Detail Plus, , KXBX 98.3 FM, Lake County Waste Solutions, Lake County Welding, Sheldon Signs, 707 Graphics,

For more information on the 2019 racing season, visit NCRA - Lakeport Speedway Facebook page.