Sunday, April 28, 2019

Knight Wins North State Modified Action At Stockton 99

Darrin Knight poses with NSMS flagman Johnny Miskill after his $1000 win at Stockton 99 Speedway Saturday night Photos by Don Bloom

Via Nadine Strauss/NSMS Media

Stockton, CA April 27 , 2019.... After a disappointing run at Madera Speedway on the season opener, Darrin Knight of Kelseyville re-configured his car and led wire-to-wire to capture race #2 of the North State Modified Series, presented by Protect the Harvest, at Stockton 99 Speedway Saturday night. Cameron Austin of Santa Rosa followed Knight across the line for a second place finish. Sacramento's Jason Philpot finished third, Robbie Knittel of Lodi placed fourth, and Cloverdale's Dustin DeRosier drove his new car to a top five finish.

The Stockton 99 Speedway Hoosier Tire track record of 14.319 seconds was set by Lakeport's Ian Elliott in the Terry Deal #01 modified. Darrin Sullivan of Kelseyville clocked in second fast at 14.336, Austin was third with a 14.354. Knight's fourth place qualifying effort was 14.374, placing him on the pole for the 60 lap feature.

Knight powered into the lead at the drop on the Johnny Miskill green flag with Austin and Elliot hot on his trail. Both Sullivan and Knittel drove under Elliott on lap two as Knight was pulling away from the field. By lap 10 Knight had a five-car length lead, and by lap 14 he caught the back-runners and began the lapping process.

Jason Philpot poked his nose under Elliott on 22 to make the pass for sixth. At the same time Knittel was trying everything he could to get around Sullivan, but Sullivan held his ground.

The first of three yellow flags flew on lap 26 when Keith Bloom's car touched Sal Lopez's mount resulting in Lopez spinning in turn two. When racing resumed Knight continued his forward motion, and at the Gone Fishin' Marine Half-Way Mark it was Knight, Austin, Sullivan, Knittel, Philpot, Elliott, DeRosier, Rich Cobb, Stockton veteran driver Buzz DeVore, Bloom, Rick Avila, Donovan Cox and Lopez.

DeVore cut down a tire and scraped the wall on lap 42 to slow the action a second time. The double-file restart saw Knight pull away again, leaving the other front runners in a tight pack where contact was made sending Sullivan against the turn three concrete. This moved Philpot up to third, DeRosier Fourth and Knittel fifth.

Knittel snuck under DeRosier four rounds later. The remaining laps went without incident with Knight the $1000 winner. Austin collected $700 for second. Philpot earned $600 for third, Knittel took home $500 for fourth, and DeRosier's fifth place finish was good for $400. Rounding out the top 10 were Elliott, Bloom, Sullivan, Cobb and Lopez.

With points leader Randy Houston absent, Cameron Austin took over the points lead by four points over Jason Philpot. Knight's win boosted up to third in points with Sullivan fourth and Elliott fifth.

Bloom collected $100 for his win in the Lucas Oil Dash for Cash with Cobb earning $50 for second. Arce Racing Engines donated $50 each to third place DeRosier and fourth place Avila.

The Keyser Hard Charger award went to Philpot. John Baker picked up the Naake Shocks certificate, Bloom and Cobb took home the Scribner jugs, and the Frank's Radios gift cards went to Knight, Knittel and DeRosier.

The North State Modified Series moves North to the Redwood Acres Raceway in Eureka for race #3 on Saturday May 11, with a practice day on Friday, May 10.

The North State Modified Series is presented by: Protect the Harvest, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire West, Sunoco Race Fuels, Naake Suspension, Five Star Bodies, Racer Bling, Keyser Racing Products, Scribner Plastics, Gone Racin' Marine, Buckhorn Bar & Grill, and Franks Radios.

NSMS modified rules, procedures, schedule, entry forms and other information are available on the web site

HOOSIER TIME TRIALS: Ian Elliott (14.319), Darrin Sullivan (14.336), Cameron Austin (14.354), Darrin Knight (14.357), Robbie Knittel (14.374), Jason Philpot (14.391), Rich Cobb (14.560), Dustin DeRosier (14.560), Keith Bloom Jr, (14.653), Sal Lopez (14.709), Rick Avila (14.736), Buzz DeVore (14.793), Donovan Cox (15.000), John Baker (15.603)

LUCAS OIL DASH FOR CASH: Keith Bloom Jr, Rich Cobb, Dustin DeRosier, Rick Avila, Donovan Cox, Buzz DeVore

SUNOCO / NAAKE SUSPENSION MAIN EVENT : Darrin Knight, Cameron Austin, Jason Philpot, Robbie Knittel, Dustin DeRosier, Ian Elliott, Keith Bloom Jr, Darrin Sullivan, Rich Cobb, Sal Lopez, Rick Avila, Donovan Cox, Buzz DeVore, John Baker (DNS)