Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Doss bags $2,000 Fall Spectacular Win

By Matthew J. Sullivan

For the first time since 2013, Redwood Acres Raceway played host to the Fall Spectacular this past weekend. It was the 24th annual running of the event which first started in 1990. Seven divisions partook in the two-day event which was capped off with a 100-lap late model race.

The California State and Federal Employees Credit Union roadrunners were one of the two divisions that raced a full schedule on both Saturday and Sunday. Dave Rogers from Ukiah, California paced qualifying on Saturday with a 20.385 lap. Rogers took the trophy dash win as well as a win in the fast heat while Bob Ratzlaff won the slower heat. Dominic Vogelsang led the opening five laps of the 20-lap main but Rogers had the better car as he took the lead on lap six. Rogers would go on to cruise to the win over James Nichols, Vogelsang, Jordon Paiment and Nick Ford.

Sunday’s roadrunner qualifying was again paced by Rogers with a 20.246. The trophy dash win went to Nichols while the heats were taken by Vogelsang and Rogers. The 20-lap main was similar to the previous night as led the opening portion of the event, this time for eight circuits. As with the night before, it was Rogers who had the stronger car as he maneuvered to the lead on lap nine and held on from there. At the finish it was Rogers sweeping both feature events. Vogelsang placed second while Nichols, Ford and Paiment rounded out the top five.

The Thunder Roadsters were the other division that raced both days. Ronnie O’Neil set fast time on day one with a 17.333 qualifying lap. Aaron Byers claimed the trophy dash win while O’Neil took the heat race. Byers led the opening 1/3 of the 30 lap main before giving way to O’Neil who was able to lead the rest of the way to take the feature win. Byers held off Tommy Payne for second followed by Chris Lawrence and Dax Kinsey.

O’Neil was again fast time on Sunday with a bit of a faster time, a 17.317. Chris Sarvinski took the trophy dash win while O’Neil won the heat. Sarvinski dominated the 30-lap main as he was able to get past Donnie Brown on lap three. Sarvinski pulled out to a substantial margin as Brown tried to fight off the faster competitors for second. At the finish it was Sarvinski taking the win followed by O’Neil, Byers, Lawrence and Payne.

2015 and 2016 North State Modified Series champion, Darrin Knight paced the modifieds with a 16.422. Veteran Willie Thompson won the trophy dash and heat races. Thompson led the opening nine of the 30 lap main but it was Knight who proved to be superior as he took the lead. Knight went on to win over Thompson, Sierra Furia and Orion Mosher.

Derek Copeland substituted for Brian Kamisky on Saturday and he set quick time for the Legends cars with a 17.975. Copeland went on to win the trophy dash and heat races. Kamisky hopped into his car on Sunday for the 50-lap main event. The feature was slowed at the halfway point when Tyler Peach and Anissa Curtice had a meeting in turn two with Curtice hitting the tire barrier. Fortunately she was okay. Nobody could keep pace with Kamisky who started from the back and took the lead on lap seven. At the finish it was Kamisky getting the $500 victory. Brad Curtice placed second followed by Buddy Cox, Brent Mack and Daniel Whitley.

Qualifying for the Humboldt Hydroponics mini stocks was paced by Rick Estes with an 18.956. Jarrett Mayo won the trophy dash as well as the heat which awarded him the pole for Sunday’s 40-lap main. The two strongest drivers in the feature were Mayo and Estes. The two traded the lead on lap 15 but contact on lap 16 sent both to the rear giving Brian Murrell, Sr. the lead. Mayo regained the lead from Murrell on lap 31 and was able to take the win over Murrell, Sam Brown, Estes and Nick Ford.

The Fortuna Wheel and Brake bomber division had a stellar field for the weekend with 20 cars showing up to race. Terry Pittman set the pace in qualifying with a 18.229. Kolby Jackson took the trophy dash win. Richard Knight won the first heat which awarded him the 11th starting position for Sunday’s first main event. Sacramento racer, Erick Ray took the second heat win which gave him the pole position.

The first main event was dominated by Ray. The best fight was for second place as Brian King, Ryan Walters and Pittman battled for the second position. Ray led all 50 laps taking the $1,000 win in what proved to be a rough first main event. Walters beat King for second while Pittman and Corey James rounded out the top five. Ray drew the six pill for the invert which gave Wyatt Roach the pole for the second feature.

Due to his win in the first main, Ray had the opportunity to take $4,000 home. Besides earning $1,000 for winning the first main, he could earn $1,000 for winning the second main, $1,000 for sweeping both mains and an additional $1,000 for having the highest finish between the two main events.

Roach led the opening lap of the second feature before Pittman was able to take the lead. Pittman held on until lap 14 when Ray was able to get to the lead. The first half of the main was much cleaner than the first race was until a rather scary incident involving Kimberly Sorrels, Matt Simon and David Jones in turn four brought out the red flag. Thankfully all three drivers were okay. Ray looked to have the race in hand until a broken axle on lap 24 dashed his hopes. Pittman took the lead back and never lost it again. At the finish it was Pittman taking the $1,000 win over Walters, Brian King, Kolby Jackson and Wyatt Roach. Walters was awarded $1,000 for having the best overall finish in the two races.

Qualifying for the Fall Spectacular 100 late model race was paced by hometown favorite, Brandon White with a 15.900 with 21 drivers in all timing in. Three drivers who did not qualify were Jeremy Doss, Randy Houston and Scott Baker. Doss missed qualifying but was able to race in the slower heat while Houston and Baker had issues in practice which knocked them out of the weekend’s action. Marty Walsh took the win in the first heat which awarded him the 11th starting spot for Sunday’s 100-lap affair while Brandon Ash took the second heat win and pole position for Sunday.

Ash led the first four circuits which were slowed twice by caution flags. On the lap five restart, David Miller took the lead. Junior Roddy got past Ash for second on lap 18 and began a serious bid for the top position. By lap 24, Doss had maneuvered to third after starting 14th. On lap 26, fan favorite Jim Walker fell out. Another caution bunched the field and on the restart Miller and Roddy fought hard for the lead. The two got together and slowed off turn two on lap 29 which allowed Doss to make a thrilling three-wide pass for the lead.

Doss appeared to have the race well in hand by the halfway point while second place Miller appeared to have his hands full with his car. Roddy was able to take second on lap 52 and Miller began to fall out of the top five as White, Eric Gannon, Derek Copeland, Ash and David Henderson were all able to get past. Ash fell out of the race on lap 65.

The race was slowed several times in the final 30 laps which allowed Roddy and the rest of the field to close on Doss. Each restart however, Doss was able to retain his lead. The yellow flags helped Miller regain the handling in his car as he was able to get back to fourth on lap 76. At one point in the final stages, Roddy was able to get right to Doss’ rear bumper but Doss was able to withstand Roddy’s challenge. At the finish it was Doss taking the $2,000 victory, his second Fall Spectacular win. Roddy took second followed by White, Miller and Henderson. Doss’ margin of victory over Roddy was 0.771 seconds.

For full race results and main event videos from the Fall Spectacular weekend at Redwood Acres Raceway, please visit the track’s official website www.RacingTheAcres.com